$1 in China can get you....!!!!

Hi and 你好!(ni hao)

I am an American living in China, I am a teacher, have lived in Asia for over 20 years.

I made a video yesterday about what you can buy in China for $1. Which is the average hourly wage(people who make this amount are either not taxed AT ALL). You can get a can of beer and a pack of cigs for 1 hour($1)(90 cents to be exact!). Not bad eh? I don't drink or smoke anymore, but thought it would be interesting to show people the economics of this place in a simple example. How much is a pack of cigs in the US for example? I have heard in NY, it is around $10!!! WTF!?!? No wonder people sometimes "smuggle" cigarettes!!!!

I have a youtube channel called, "Vegan Kimchi" please and check it out! Here is the video I just made!
Peace and Kimchi, From China with Love

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center