Bajai Life Camp 17.31: Day 512 - Goodbye October, Hello Philadelphia

Bajai Life Camp 17.31: Day 512
Amtrak Crescent 20
Wednesday October 31, 2018
Somewhere in North Carolina
28.03% suffocating

Universe has led the most smelly, smokey person next to me on this train! Try as I may I cannot shake the discomfort. There are no other seats! I had a good run, so it looks like I'll be suffering the next several hours. Or at least until I can get up and out for breakfast.

20181031_DC Union station.png
Union Station switcheroo... from diesel to electric

Not a bad guy. Just that smell. I think that because my lungs are clear it affects me more. Actually, after a short conversation where he dropped some celebrity names, I realized... he smells like he just got out of jail. No judgement. But how, you may ask, do I recognize that smell? No judgement. I did, however, take the first opportunity to relocate myself for the last part of this ride.

Lynchburg, Virginia at 06:00. Six hours to Philly. A cup of tea and I'm wondering if I should spend the rest of the ride in the cafe car. As I figured, the closer we get to DC the more crowded the train would get. Population density adversely affects quality of life. One of the two toilets, that I know of, is incapacitated. I needn't elaborate.

The train is held up in Culpeper, Virginia. Seems there's a personnel issue. Amtrak is waiting for an engineer. I can only imagine the scenario; the excuse. Did they call in sick? Did they have an accident? At this level of responsibility one doesn't just over sleep. I'm curious. Luckily I don't have a connection. This train will certainly be late arriving to every station beyond this one.

Now that I'm back in the US, the dollar is close to .97¢. Someone was saying it's the best game in town. If I pay attention maybe I can buy some gold, or some cryptos.

People got all kinds of problems and they will happily share them. Sometimes with me. But mostly I overhear them complaining to others. Most of the times I have the ear buds in. I am, I guess, my own oasis.

20181031_30th St.png
30th Street Station - Philadelphia

In addition to climbing the hill with my bags I also managed to get to the park and hit some pull ups and dips. I've got to go full extension, halfs, shrugs and holds.

And now... to the basement, unpack and tidy up.

Oh yeah. I promised myself I'd invite someone I never met for coffee. I did that. Only one answer will allow us to move forward. Otherwise, status quo.

Not long ago I realized who I am. Words don't do a very good job of describing me, but it's all I have.

20181031_The basement.png
Rule #10 for Living LIke a Millennial - Move into your mother's basement.

I am reliability, stability, that eye of the storm, that safe place. I am both heat and warmth. This is why I attract so many "crazy" women and troubled spirits. But also those in transition. There's more but it has yet to be revealed.

And now I'm settled in.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now