Bajai Life Camp 17.28: Day 509

Bajai Life Camp 17.28: Day 509
Residence Inn
Sunday October 28, 2018
Metairie, Louisiana
27.87% super-sore

The most prominent stiffness is in the area where the neck meets the shoulders. Turning my head is a slow process. I haven't felt like this in a decade at least. Yesterday, my body moved like a rusty athlete; an old clunker of a muscle car taken out for a spin and pushed just slightly beyond its limits. While cars are machines and bodies are organisms, I still like the analogy.

20181026_Fam Bam Metairie.png

On the basketball court the Bod was required to maneuver in various directions, including up and down. I launched many basketballs yet made few baskets. To my surprise, my stamina and endurance stayed with me. The "games" weren't fierce, thankfully.

Today is wedding day for my nephew, Rahman. I honestly don't know what to expect. It's not supposed to be a traditional wedding ceremony.

By the way, I slept well. Been waking without the alarm and coming to breakfast at the hotel dining area. The breakfast is basic... but I like it and it gets me through the day. What I really like is the people-watching. I sit here for hours, watch the herd while my people sleep.

Despite the stiffness I still managed to shoot the rock and defeat an eleven year old in a basketball game. I missed more shots than I made, but I was better than yesterday.

And then there was great uncle duty. Stone took to me almost immediately. He's a very familiar spirit and somehow I think we'll be close. Hope it's not out of some tragedy that it happens.

The wedding was lovely and quick. The giant Louisiana mosquitoes swarmed and all of us yankees were swatting while the locals... the bride's family, sat comfortably. There are big-ass skeeters down here. And a lot of food.
And I'm tired.

20181028_Plantation.png
South Oak Plantation

And then there was Justin... number one great nephew... but that's a private memory.

Goodnight.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now