Bajai Life Camp 17.26: Day 507

Bajai Life Camp 17.26: Day 507
Greyhound Bus Station
Friday October 26, 2018
Mobile, Alabama
27.76% observing

You haven't lived... or experienced American until you've travel through the south on a bus. It's certainly not what it was during Jim Crow, but it's an experience nonetheless. I'm fighting my northern snobbery yet still I find myself scrunching my nose at some of these humans, their habits, how they look and dress. I know I'm no better. We are the products and results of our experiences, choices and to a large extent, birth.

20181026_NOLA Sign.png

It's such a mistake for (insert political identity) to believe that races, income levels and/or regions are monolithic voting blocks; or let me say "interest blocks." Most of the single-minded issues of New York and California don't play in the south. And before I head into speculative territory, let me end here and go back to waiting for my bus, watched bad TV, and involuntarily eavesdropping on a cell phone conversation on speaker.

More trail mix!!!

During the ride to New Orleans I slept almost the whole way. Got into the Station, requested a Lyft, had breakfast and have been up ever since, having catching up with family. We came to the French quarter for lunch. Now I'm sleepy.

20181026_da pool.png

It's been a long day. It might be a pivotal day. My mom and my sister, Andrea took a spill walking around in the French quarter. Mom felt light headed so she went to the hospital. It's been hours. Sleep overcame me and I was out for a few hours.

Stazja's manager is giving her a hard time about shift coverage... plus the airline et al has not found her bag... yet.

Strange days... Indeed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now