Promoting Steemit to Students of Lagos State University (LASU) - Reach of 5,400+

Introduction

I really don't like the fact that Steemit has not gotten the attention it deserve. With just barely two months on the platform, my life have been transformed (mostly financial transformation). When i see people going through some financial struggles, then i say to myself "if he/she knew about Steemit, life would have been better. "

More of my attention goes to students in Nigerian Universities, because when I was still a student, I had so many financial struggles and restrictions that i had to battle with. So, i direct most of my Steemit campaign to target students in the University.

Why I Chose Lagos State University (LASU)

Lagos state, Nigeria, is the most populated state in Nigeria, where individuals from almost all tribes in the Country exists. The state is sometimes referred to as mini Nigeria. So the state university have a very large number of students from different tribes of the Country.

I am presently in Lagos State, and I noticed from my discussion with some students of LASU, that many students of the University don't know about the amazing platform called Steemit.

So,i took up a social campaign on Facebook to bridge this awareness gap among the students of Lagos State University (LASU).

Audience

I had a potential audience of 3,400,000 size, and a potential reach ranging from 13,000 - 34,000, which included both men and women and with age range of 18 - 65+.

I restricted my campaign location to only cover Lagos State, and I selected some interests that most Nigerian students are more likely to have.

This was intended to better channel my campaign to my targeted audience most efficiently.

potential

Activity

I already have an existing Facebook page, that was used to promote my first campaign to students of University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) and it produced a positive result.

So I used the same page, and created a new Facebook post for this visibility.

Note:
On the day of submitting this post, I noticed that utopian-io rules have been modified to a minimum of 5,000 reach, while i was having 1,393 reach in the first place.

So promoted the post further. On my second promotion, I was able to reach an addition 4,500 people with the new promotion, making my total reach 5,400+ people.

The results of the different posts will be reported individually.

Two results

Link to Facebook Page

Link to Facebook Post

Results

First Promotion

The campaign had an impressive amount of engagement, considering the amount of people that was reached.

I was able to reach 1393 students of LASU, with an impressive 739 engagements. This comes to show that students of LASU showed a higher interest to Steemit platform.

reach

From the 739 engagements, 71%(524) were from men, out of which 62%(428) was from younger male students between the ages of 18 - 24. While the remaining 9%(96) was from older male students above the age of 25.

On the other hand, 29%(215) of the 739 engagements were from women, out of which 25%(187) was from younger female students. While the remaining 4%(28) was from older female students above the age of 25.

percentage

Interpretation of results

The overall engagement results revealed the following:

  • The male students showed more interest to steemit platform than the females, with the percentage of 71% and 29% respectively.
  • The younger students (between 18 - 24) were more interested in Steemit platform, than the older students (above +25).
Second Promotion

For the second campaign, the following is the result:

I was able to reach 4,500 students of LASU, with 1,784 engagements.I had the following actions from my audience:

Photo Clicks: 31

Links Click: 8

Page Likes: 37

Comments: 3

reach

From the 1,784 engagements, 68%(1,210) were from men, out of which 56%(991) was from younger male students between the ages of 18 - 24. While the remaining 12%(219) was from older male students above the age of 25.

On the other hand, 32%(573) of the 1,784 engagements were from women, out of which 26%(458) was from younger female students. While the remaining 6%(115) was from older female students above the age of 25.

percentage

Interpretation of results

The overall engagement results of this second promotion is similar to the results of the first promotion. It revealed the following:

  • The male students showed more interest to steemit platform than the females, with the percentage of 68% and 32% respectively.
  • This result also showed that the younger students (between 18 - 24) were more interested in Steemit platform, than the older students (above +25).

Total Results

Evidence

My Facebook account

Facebook Act

My Steemit account

Steemit Act



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center