[SteemPacman] Steem Pacman Now Open Source And Better!

[SteemPacman] Steem Pacman Now Open Source And Better!

image.png
Image courtesy of @inquiringtimes


Steem Pacman

Recently I released Steem Pacman. The game immediately drew a lot of attention and traffic. Users have received over 20 STEEM in rewards from simply playing Pacman!!!!!

One notable user, @frankk, took it upon himself to execute a penetration test on the game. I am glad he did, because I did not spend very much time ensuring the security of the game as it is a simple proof of concept. However, frankk showed me he was able to manipulate the leaderboard, and thus, get unearned rewards!

Here's frankk enjoying his well deserved leaderboard placement.

Screen Shot 2017-12-13 at 8.58.51 PM.png

After I was informed of the vulnerability, I went ahead and addressed it by rewriting the engine that is serving the game to the user. Instead of being entirely client side, I have added a server engine, a template processor, and some more security checks.

Built With

  • NodeJS
  • Express
  • SteemJS

How To Play

How To Contribute

Links



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center