Utopian and Yehey support plus ChainBB fix for SteemSwitch

steemswitch-menu.png

We just released SteemSwitch version 1.2 that includes support for Utopian and Yehey. We did this following a requests from current and potential users of SteemSwitch, including @elear himself. :) The new release also has some other minor improvements.

utopian-logo-120x120.png

Utopian Support

@antonchanning tasked me with adding support for Utopian.io as an exercise in learning javascript. It was fun and exciting to look at the code and working out how to do it. It was really straight forward. All I had to do was copy and paste some code and replace the name and url of another platform with Utopian. You can have a look at my commit on github to see just how easy this was.

While I was at it, I also took the opportunity to add the new Steemit.com logo to the menu, so its up to date. The utopian.io and steemit.com logos make SteemSwitch menu look more colourful.

Screenshot-2017-11-18  antonchanning.png

Yehey Support

Since adding support for Utopian proved an easy and quick job, I went through the issues list to see if there is anything else I could add. There were a few requests to support different sites. I tried adding each one but only Yehey worked. The other cases are not straight forward and will take more time to solve, so I decided stop at committing yehey support by itself.

Since the menu looks so much nicer I added a new missing icon.

ChainBB Fix

Perhaps the most complicated thing I developed for the 1.2 release was a fix in switching to and from ChainBB. SteemSwitch allows the user to switch from the tag view from one site to another. However this feature didn't work in the previous versions of SteemSwitch for ChainBB, because ChainBB uses a different URL structure. To see the fix have a look at the lines 45-57 in the commit file on github.com

Here is an example of what you will see if you redirect from the utopian tag on steemit.com to ChainBB:

Screenshot-2017-11-18 chainBB Forums.png

I enjoy learning on a life project, knowing that my contribution has a tangible value for others. It's a great way to expand my skill set and gain valuable experience. I'm looking forward learning and developing more features for SteemSwich and other projects.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center