RE: RE: Why european countries don't have referendums or initiatives like us states do?
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why european countries don't have referendums or initiatives like us states do?

RE: Why european countries don't have referendums or initiatives like us states do?

Hi, there is always a good and a bad side with referendums.

Pro:
People who are affected should be asked what they think about. These people should vote to help to find democratic decisons.

Contra:
We have democratic elected representatives in all regions. These people are experts or should at least have access to experts to find the best for their representated people. Referendums often end up in total mess of populism and campaigns which drive the opinion of the masses based on faces and stories.

I am not sure if I prefer to rely on somebody I possibly don't trust who represents me or if I prefer to see my neighbours thinking heavyly effected by private television and populisitc newspapers. I think it requires a case to case decision ...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center