Mu Online - Ode to A Server That Was - Poem


A Tribute to Mu Philippines and the Bahr Server



Excerpts from Ode to A Server that Was


Hi everyone! I would like to share a poem that I made years ago about Mu Philippines, a game that I loved to play so much. This was originally made as an entry to its forums-game "Good-by bahr poem making contest", when the Bahr and Titan servers were subjected to "The Culling" as the GM's call it. During this event, both servers were merged to form the Tahr Server in preparation for Mu Philippines Season 4. Both servers had their own culture, guild alliances, game market economy, friends/foes, duel master rivalries and sentiments, and the Culling posed as an exciting risk which can threaten or enhance the balance in the newly-formed Tahr server. Here it goes...  



Ode to A Server That Was


The vaults creaked upon my touch
The fountain roared from where I stood
And the blacksmith's hammer clanged too much
On Lorencia where my consciousness first brood

I wore my gears with a heavy heart
Saddened by the hasty news
That all warriors must set apart;
Sail to a world of different views

my main character's noob stats and gears

I slung my shield and clutched my staff
Undulating violet with energy
This is the day where I cannot laugh;
My staff weighed unusually heavy

I emptied my vaults of its treasures
And placed everything in my pack
Keepsakes from friends, beyond all measures
Some jewels, zen and a few s.o.l's stack

3D models of wizards' items extracted from the game client and rendered in 3DS max

I let my wing's spirit fill my soul
Before I closed my eyes and donned
The brooding helm which hid my falling tears
And masked my face in solitude as silence droned

I opened my eyes and looked around
Savored each sight with the eyes of a wizard
I briefly recalled the day, on this very ground
I once stood as an apprentice wizard

Dark Wizard (left) and Soul Master (right). Images for the Gif's were captured in-game

In silence I strode to the Western Gate
A Soul Master clad in blue
I passed by the Bar and fountain, wait—
Will they be the same on that distant world, too?

I bared my wings and took flight
Flew south, to the Valley of Loren
Lorencia's fortress loomed distant from my sight
Echoing with joyous days, long-forgotten

At the West gate (in-game screenshot)

I stopped by a cliff overlooking the Valley
The rest of Bahr Mu Continent behind
I'll wait here 'til The Culling comes for me;
As it will on my brothers, sisters and the rest of my kind

The sun now sets on the horizon
The skies blazed with dying fires
From afar, a Dark Lord on his steed pawed head-on
Towards the Valley; to the Castle where his heart cries

I crossed my arms and looked beyond
And thought of all there were before
Of friendships forged into a brotherly bond
Of acquaintances merged to a deeper core

Of adventures shared
And experiences gained
Of how victorious in battles we have fared;
And how some withered when the trials rained

Familiar faces flashed from left to right
Faces I'll never forget nor regret
Noble warriors who fought with their might
And treacherous fiends who cheated till ends are met

Fragile Elves, who boosted my confidence
Fatal Elves who pierced me with their arrows
Unbeatable Knights with Bone Blades in cadence
Gladiators whose slashes burns and burrows

Dark Lords, Guild Masters and their fatherly honor
And fellow brethren for wise wizardly talks
These faces, I'll surely remember with fervor
Beyond dimensions, they will always be my folks

I took off my helm and the breeze blew in
Caressing my hair as it dried away the tears
I felt Bahr sleeping from within
A deep, tranquil slumber free of fears

Twilight enveloped Bahr on where I stood
As the sun cast the last of its rays on the blessed land
With utmost respect I knelt down to salute;
Paid last homage to my beloved homeland

-by me! 15-Aug-2008





One of my promotional fan-made videos for Mu Philippines (credits @videocopilot for the special effects)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center