EMBRACING THE LANGUAGE OF NUMBERS

Taking engineering also means carrying the load of mathematics.

image

Image source

From before we learn how to draw and write, our parents thought us first abc's and 123's. We learned how to count through our fingers, and reading them like how we read the alphabet. Little we did know, we use mathematics in daily life like counting our changes from the stores or even telling the clock until most of us, tend to vomit when meeting numbers. HAHA. I was one of the people who loves it when the maths are like 1+2=3 but also, like most of people, I tend to get lost in the language of numbers when letters became numbers like x+y= 5.

image
Image source

In the way of getting myself back on track with mathematics isn't easy. There is the frustration , procrastination and other things, but I took a step, little by little in engaging with math again. I started to play with numbers, learn to understand them, and especially, enjoying them. I joined math shows when I was in my younger years and I am also getting myself involve with Math again by joining math shows and aiming for one of the top at review atleast.

What I did cope up with Math

image
Image source

PLAY WITH GOOD MUSIC

I started from the basic. I sang with my hearts out at the chorus I played on the radio when doing calculations along with the scent of the chocolates that brought my study habit more exciting. The clandestine excitement I felt to the rhythm reduced my stress.

image
Image source

EAT WITH NUMBERS

An empty stomach won't do good especially in Math. Numbers will consume our energy while our brain is accelerating its process to understand it. A good food is one of my stress relievers. I usually place snacks beside me when doing Math; chocolates, biscuits or coffee perhaps. It helps us comprehend and I also consider this a reward for me.

image
Image source

MAKE YOUR CALCULATOR YOUR BESTFRIEND

Trust your calculator. I believe there is a connection between the owner and the calculator. Have more time with your calculator, in that way, you will be more comfortable with it. Knowing your calculator gives you lesser time in encoding them because if you distant yourself to it, it'll be harder for you to use it. Calculator is efficient to use with Math calculations but do not depend yourself too much in your calculator. Work yourself with calculator, not the calculator will work for you.

image
Image source

FIND AN EASIER WAY TO REMEMBER

I don't usually memorize all the formulas ( this make me sick ), what i did is I put mnemonics. Understanding the formulas is far way than memorizing them. I made mnemonics that I'll surely remember. Sometimes, I make this mnemonics sillier. Making mnemonics that makes us laugh or caught our attention or the usual words we encounter everyday makes it easier.

We have different approach in communicating with Math but the bottom line is, we take small steps in getting bigger platform. I hope this will be a great help for people having hard time with Math .

image.png

I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center