Untalented: Amazing Adjustments That Have Happened In My Life Since I Found Steemit


better.jpg
Source

I remember the excitement on Jane’s face when she was telling me about Steemit. She said it was a writing platform that had changed her life. I looked at her in a funny way like she was joking. Of course, she had to be joking. I had been struggling to earn a decent living online for about five years, I was even more conversant with the internet than her, So how was she able to discover this goldmine that I had no idea of? “It’s not about how far but how well,” she said to me when I mentioned this. Well, I decided to give it a try. And it turned out to be one of the best decisions I have made in my entire life.

Now, it all makes perfect sense. I understand what Jane meant when she said Steemit changed her life. Truly, Steemit has changed my life. I feel embarrassed that I doubted her at first. Where do I even start from?


hardwork.jpg
Source

I have learned to work harder

One of the things Jane made clear to me was that Steemit isn’t a get-rich-over-night thing. She made it clear that if I wanted to succeed on Steemit, I’d have to work hard. I’m glad she was truthful about this because, if she hadn’t said it, I’d have been disappointed if I didn’t see any results after making a few posts. I made up my mind to work very hard by writing and also participating on Steemit. It wasn’t about “getting rich” for me but about working hard and being a part of the community.


critic.png
Source

I have become more receptive of constructive criticism

If you are a writer or a creative person, you’ll agree with me that receiving criticism of your work isn’t such an easy thing. When you put in so much work to write something, and someone reduces your work to nothing with unpleasant words, it has a way of making you feel bad. At first, it was hard seeing people criticize my work, but over time, I started getting used to it. A lot of Steemians try to be as nice as possible in their critic of your work. They use the right words in order not to offend you. I have learnt this from the community. And even when I want to critic other people’s works, I know how to do it without offending them.


hello.jpg
Source

I have become more outgoing

It’s amazing how this has improved in my life considering the fact that Steemit is an online platform. But you see, on Steemit, interaction is key. When you make a post, people tend to drop thoughtful comments about it. They even go as far as letting you know what they benefited from your post. It didn’t take me long to learn this. After a while, I started coming out of my shell to comment on other people’s posts and even interact with them. Now, I feel like I can interact with just anybody without being afraid or intimidated.


practice.jpg
Source

I have become a better writer

My story would be incomplete if I didn’t include this part. If anything, Steemit has made me a better writer. You know what they say: “Practise makes perfect.” I may not be a perfect writer yet, but I am a better writer. From writing regularly, my writing has improved. Now, I am more confident in my writing, and I can write on a variety of topics without feeling intimidated.

Thank you Steemit for making me a better person. And thank you @surpassinggoogle for this opportunity.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center