EP. 17: University of Greatness - How I am Working towards Perfection and Endorsing Perfectionism

I don't know the real meaning of perfection or perfectionism, but i think they are both words i have heard many times in different scenario and over time they are becoming words i want to be associated with.

Among all the “nism” in the world, perfectionism is the only one that interest me right now and I will be doing a lot of things to strife towards it daily and inculcate it into my daily living.

I was fascinated by the realization that perfection is the only target we can’t reach as human, but still set and work towards.

There are few perfectionist in the world but there are many admirer of perfectionism. But why?

Most inspirational writers and motivational speakers speak against it but in their secret, it’s something they are spending hours of time to achieve. When you want to give the best talk in the room as a motivational speaker; you’re practicing perfectionism.

When you’re trying all your best to win the contest among all participants you’re practicing perfectionism. When you are trying to avoid fuck up and bull shit by all means; you’re practicing perfectionism.

Perfection and Perfectionism are not bad words/act after all; it’s the consciousness of them that pushes us to do things differently than others. It’s a source that empowers us to win when failing seem the most interesting option.

When I know I can’t reach perfection but still strive towards it, I will achieve it unknown because perfection is not a destination we can arrive at but an aspiration we can achieve in sections.
Kazeem Olabisi

Why I want to achieve Perfection and endorse Perfectionism?


  • Because I need to overcome my fear: fear limit us from reaching perfection in our own little way, because most times, we are afraid our result might suggest we are not near perfect. If I want perfectionism, I will forgo my fear and achieve it in my own little way.

  • Because it pays to be perfect: if there Is a gig in a niche that needs to be done, people tends to look for the perfect fit for such job even though it's clear they might not find one easily. Perfectionism simply create opportunity and opportunity simply makes perfectionism worth endorsing and attempting.

  • Perfection Foster Boldness and Sell faster: this might be a replica of the first answer, but perfection actually sell faster than trial and error, even if we are not perfect and we think we are; it create boldness and boldness sell faster.

How I Want to Achieve Perfection and become a Perfectionist


  • Not making it the goal: every time and every day of my life, I will work towards perfection, but no day will I ever set it as my core target. I will make my target to be “mistakes, failures, success, big dreams and I will give the best I can to every course I pursue. I will carry the mentality that I need to be perfect to become bold, to achieve the impossible, to overcome anxiety, but yet it will not be my target.

  • Working towards something similar: it pains to know that perfection can’t be reach, so I will try to reach something similar that makes perfection perfect even when perfectionism is a not a so good idea. I will work towards becoming the best in everything that I do and perfection will be possible. Because on the way to becoming the best is becoming perfect and becoming perfect is becoming the best.

  • Trying the Impossible: in the quest to achieve perfection, I will try the impossible because it’s doable. The day I do the impossible, I will achieve perfection and perfectionism will look good because I am now a perfectionist. If I try the impossible and it didn’t work out, I will try perfection instead and it might work out.


To read other interesting and inspiring episodes of University of Greatness click on #universityofgreatness tag under this post to browse through the archives



If this post inspired, motivate, or educate you, why not resteem so others can experience same? If you upvote as well I will be glad and your comment will make me believe you did both.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now