ULOG 110 - Short garden update

ULOG 110 - Short garden update

Thanks to Spring, things are going a bit faster in my little garden and with the switch to daylight saving time, I still have an hour or so of sunlight to be able to enjoy some time in the backyard before diner, that's priceless.

I received a parcel today, it's always exciting! This time I've received a China hat vent for a wood heater flue. But I don't have a wood heater nor do I have a flue 😂, I bought this for an experiment for my rocket stove. Previously, my family used to have some evenings by the rocket stove cooking and enjoying our time together. But it was sometimes a little bit cold and we could benefit of some of the heat from the stove itself after the cooking is done. So I was using this metal cone that was left by the previous house owners.

IMG_7489.JPG

It kind of works for the purpose I wanted:

  • it heats up and radiate the heat
  • the heat is slowing down on its way up and is getting redirected to the bottom towards the front because I placed it more forward.

Then I wanted to get a flue but could not find cheap enough so went on and looked for something else and found this flue roof.

IMG_7488.JPG

It might be a tad too small offering less surface area to radiate the heat, we will see.

Before the sun went down, I went harvesting some more Mulberries so my wife can make even more jams! Yum Yum!

IMG_7486.JPG

Under the Mulberry tree, my Comfrey mother plant was growing very fast and has also started flowering.

Comfrey flower

The Chokos (Chayote) seems to like Spring and is giving sign of growth.

Chokos (Chayote) vine

The Valerian is asking for a larger pot.

Valerian

Finally, I decided to set the compost tumbler horizontally instead of its usual vertical position. The reason why is that this tumbler was gradually filled with horse manure and there are compost worms inside. And from my previous video you could see there are a lot of worms inside and probably tons of cocoons too.

Compost tumbler installed horizontally

One thing that promotes allows a larger population of worms to form is surface area. Increasing the the depth of a bin won't allow much increase of the worm population because worms mostly goes to the surface to feed. Increase the surface area is the key. By placing this tumbler horizontally, I've more or less doubled the surface area, so now the worms have more space to wander around and eat and make babies!


Previously on my Ulog:


Vote for my witness
On Steem, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Steem blockchain. Vote for me via SteemConnect to help me do more useful projects for the communities.


I'm a member ofthese communities
Team Australia BannerTeam Vietnam banner
Steemit French community bannerHomesteaders Online
Member of the SmartVote communityMinnow Support Project
Earth Tribe@quochuy ulogger on steemit.com

Credits

  • The image at the top has been generated with the Canva app using my own photo.

Protect your money against Phishing Scam!

Cryptos accounts are the target of international scammers because they want your hard earned money!

Those people are very clever and in a moment of inattention, you've given them your login and password!

I've created a Chrome extension that can help you detecting scam links!

Install Steemed Phish Chrome desktop browser extension now!

Password and Private Keys security

You all know that your Steem password is the access to all your STEEM, SBD, posting, transferring, everything... right?
So, please, follow these simple steps and keep yourself safe:

  1. Apart from the initial setup of your account, NEVER use your password ANYWHERE, if stolen, it will give full control to your Steem account.
  2. Backup your password and keep it somewhere safe. Use a password manager like Lastpass, print it on paper and put it in a safe (no kidding). If you forget your password, no one can help you out.
  3. To login for creating content and curating, use your Private Posting Key
  4. To make transfers and account operations, use your Private Active Key
  5. To encrypt and decrypt memos, use your Private Memo Key
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now