Dysfunctional Ulog

Happy Tuesday, Steemians, I hope you are having a good one. I am still being a hermit. I haven't left the apartment in ten days. And not just because it's been snowing on and off and cold - though that definitely encourages me to stay the fuck in - it's just a spate of chronic unwellness dysfunction. Even just sitting up for any decent length of time wipes me right out. I haven't showered in four days - be glad the internet isn't smellavision, lol. Yesterday or the day before I put ingredients for bread into the bread machine and started it, made a devilled egg and cut up an apple, and that felt like I had just run a marathon. I have been getting nothing done.

pins.jpg

I promise the pins from the contest have been all packed up and ready to go for days, I just haven't had the energy to walk two miles to go to the post office. I'm sorry. I will mail them as soon as I can.

WIN_20190218_10_09_46_Pro.jpg

Normally, just running bread through a bread setting in my machine leads to a hard, small loaf. It doesn't have enough time to rise on even their longest setting, so this time I used a recipe I have before, but I ran it through two "dough" cycles - so the machine didn't bake it at that point - with an hour and a half, then an hour, rise time. THEN I ran it through a "bake" cycle. You can't set the times yourself, it's all preprogrammed settings, so I couldn't just change it to have longer rise times otherwise. The bread rose well - hooray! - and then as soon as I started baking it, it collapsed like a souffle. BUT, it is the softest homemade bread I have ever made, and it's GLORIOUS. So I think I'm going to keep doing that in future!

hearts and kittens.jpg

I was saving this meme for Valentine's day and I totally forgot, so ...here are some hearts and kittens! :D

I was legitimately almost out of food. My fridge and cupboards are pretty bare, and the things I could make with what I have was countable on one hand. I had like, one egg, the bread I made, tortillas, some leftover macaroni and cheese, one can of tomato sauce, and spaghetti. So I really needed groceries. But - haven't been able to leave the apartment in ten days. Hell, haven't really gotten out of bed much in ten days. I did not have the spoons to get ready, go stand out at a bus stop and walk in the cold and snow, grocery shop, and then lug it all back home on the bus again. But home delivery for groceries is EXPENSIVE. Ten dollar fee plus tip is a lot when you're poor and ordering under $40 of food to begin with because that's all you can afford, but ...I bit the bullet and ordered groceries and had them delivered this morning. Self care. It's only the second time I've ordered delivery.

So the funny part about that is, the shopper was super nice and all, but she goofed an item on my order. I asked for two sweet potatoes. I got potato rolls. As in bread. Which I can't eat because they have four different allergens in them. I wanted some vegetables. LOL

WIN_20190219_13_08_27_Pro.jpg
not vegetables

Anyway, Steem fam, I hope y'all are well. Stay warm!

That minnow your mama always warned you about

My Zazzle Shop:

My Ko-fi:
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center