Ulog #49: A Happy (Busy) Friday on the Ol' Homestead

Idle Hands are the Devil's Playthings

Or so the saying goes. For me it would be more like idle mind the devil's plaything which is why I spend so much time reading on the Steem blockchain (boom! See what I did there, I totally justified my Steem addiction). I digress.

The point of my intro is to let you know, I have tonnes of energy today, and I'm getting shit done! First off I wanted to make sure y'all saw my new sign...

IMG_1603.JPG

My Auntie mailed it to me, she's got a really great sense of humour, obviously. I had it in the front window and @eddiebowes being the teenager of the house was horrified to see it there when he pulled up after school. It's been banished to my kitchen. Gee, thanks Ed.

Today's Kitchen Action

IMG_1593.JPG

When this is what it looks like in the morning, snow flying...

IMG_1594.JPG

Make Chilli!

I wanted to make chilli today as well, to heat up the kitchen for my next endeavour, which is baking soft rolls that our beloved Mama Castor (@cecicastor) in Nicaragua gave me the recipe for yesterday. (The recipe requires 3 punch downs.) I will show you how that all turned out tomorrow.

IMG_1585.JPG

When you make chilli be sure to rinse the beans really well, apparently un-rinsed beans are the reason for most of the flatulence that chilli is blamed for.

IMG_1587.JPG

I start by bringing 2 cans of diced tomatoes, my rinsed beans, an indecent amount of chilli powder, and salt & pepper to a boil.

IMG_1592.JPG

While my base is boiling I fry up a trifecta of garlic, onion and celery.

IMG_1599.JPG

One of my favourite veggies to put in chilli is butternut squash, I love how it thickens the sauce. Check out the sappy resin that beads out of the flesh when it's cut.

IMG_1598.JPG

IMG_1602.JPG

I cube it, and then fry it until just tender in a lot of butter, salt and pepper.

IMG_1606.JPG

Once the butternut squash is almost tender, I add sugar, and fry until it thickens into a syrup.

IMG_1609.JPG

IMG_1613.JPG

Everything is in the pot now, I have it on low and look forward to when Eddie comes home. He is the best haha, makes a Mother feel good. He comes in the door and right away tries to guess what I'm making for dinner by the smell he smelled outside and walking into the house. He gets so delighted by my food, there's no better feeling in the world.

IMG_1615.JPG

Gotta Fly!

So much laundry to do, I decided to tackle the kids' "fort blankets" and Eddie's "fishhouse blankets" Good grief don't even ask. It's a pile I've been avoiding like the plague, I have begun though and that is what matters.

IMG_1604.JPG

The first school bus gets here in 30 minutes lol, I gotta get in the shower before I end up forgetting to take care of one person I really do need to be taking care of right now, me :) After that I start my Mama Castor (cinnamon raisin) soft rolls and look very forward to tempting you with the photos and the recipe tomorrow. Take care #SteemFam! Sending out Hugs!!

#Ulog is a blog about You

As the creator of #Ulogs, @surpassinggoogle puts it: You are the Celebrity, and We are your Fans. It's a wonderful initiative to get Steemians blogging more regularly, if you don't have an idea for something to write about, write a Ulog.

How?

Just upload a photo from your day and write a paragraph (or more) about You. Let's see and hear what is alive for you right now. It could even be something you think is completely mundane, but remember, what is ordinary to you could be extraordinary to another Steeemian.

Screen Shot 2019-01-03 at 1.20.06 PM.png

For more information read: The Fundamentals Of Making #ulogs

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center