Those in the States understand the pain of the DMV Ulog #5

How often do you look at your drivers license? Me, never and I mean never!! Ya they set it up to expire on your birthday, in hopes of you remembering. I’m sorry it’s my birthday and that is the last thing I am thinking about while I’m stuffing my face with with a birthday cake overloaded with frosting. Oh *G* I need to renew my Drivers license. Lol

I am in no way passing the buck to someone else for me forgetting to renew my license. I just find a little humor in the way they attempt to help. Worthy effort by the state, but epic fail in my case. Now I am here at the Department of Motor Vehicles AKA THE DMV to renew my license.

29772714-CE37-4CB9-B624-0F28A53BF969.jpeg

So let’s just say I have been driving “illegally for the past nearly 2 months. No really, I have and I also have a Commercial Drivers License too. You know so I can Drive “Big Rigs” if I need to. You might want to exit the highway if you see me behind the wheel of an 18 wheeler.

4FCBE16F-ACCC-4BAC-88FB-A79A594A2792.jpeg

Anyway the DMV is kind of a special place that is near and dear to my heart. Wait...hold up!!! Everytime I leave this place I wanna pull my hair out and flip out!!! There is like some sort of evil that floats around in this place I swear. LOL The constant arguing about fees, the What, When, Where and most importantly Why questions are being used repeatedly. In most cases by a pissed off Citizen just trying to get their license renewed. No that wasn’t me...not yet anyway. :wink:wink:

1EFFE313-7808-4330-BC6F-5AB6B5E5FE52.jpeg

Then you get the repeated dinging; “Now serving customer number 98 at desk number 2
Now serving customer number 99 at desk number 4” as I sit here with this number.

120D7DC7-3D78-4C8D-AA57-870A2D16D7D6.jpeg

I’m glad they have 2 out of 3 desks going, this should speed things up. Slowly the numbers get announced and finally it will be my turn soon. The first question I will be asking is, “How much do I owe you turds?” Lol

Ding: “Now serving number 112 at desk number 2

Hey, Hey that’s me yippy!!! That was fast, just 15 minutes at I am at the desk. That is just one of the many perks of living in a small town. The lines are small too.
After admitting my guilt of letting my license expire the man behind the counter gave a chuckle and proceeded to tell me that I needed to provide a state issued birth certificate. Well G I don’t just go packing that around with me and since when do I need to provide this??? He said in 2015 the Fed started requiring this, it was part of my Class A Commercial Drivers License. So I have to pay more for the license and have to provide more documentation for it too. Oooo-K

The DMV games have begun

3D4AB12C-60F6-4350-896F-CEC57B152AE3.jpeg

So back to the house I go, I call Mama Splatts ahead of time and get her searching for a copy of my birth certificate. I mean really, what happened over the past 5 -10 years where I need to provide this? I didn’t have a sex change or anything!!! My name didn’t change, nothing has changed. I am Me. Ok whatever, I got a copy of my birth certificate at the house, no biggie. The guy behind the counter was cool and said to not take a number and we can finish up this deal on the side. Nice!!

As I arrive back at the DMV there are more people inside than when I first got there the first time. When I left there were Zero I mean Zero people sitting in the chairs and nobody at the counters. Vacant.

151736C4-B0BD-405C-8403-88156DD0E18E.jpeg

I felt a little guilty about just walking up to the man’s desk so I just grabbed another number. What’s an additional 10 minutes anyway. Maybe I like taking the numbers from the machine. I was a little disappointed it wasn’t the red cylinder, where you actually have to tear off the little V shaped tickets but these receipt looking ones will do....I guess.
Then the gentleman motioned me to the desk. I gave him a copy of my birth certificate and a puzzled look came over his face.

“This is a copy.” He stated
I replied, “ Yes It is.”
“We need the original, do you have the original?”
I replied with confidence, “Yes, yes I do.”

So I ran back to the house for the second time in search of my original birth certificate. Low and behold all I have is copies!!! Wait a minute, do my parents still have my original?? Great, they live an hour away, if they do have it then I have to drive over there on a suspended license!!! CRAP!! This rose another question, why don’t I have an original??? Or have I ever had an original??? Whatever, either way I need t get one.

AH HA!!! Passport!! That should do, but he didn’t mention anything to me about that but it should work. Oh well, let’s give that a try first before I go driving all over the place on a suspended license. As if I hadn’t been doing that for the past 2 months anyway. Lol

Looks like my hopes and dreams of an easy painless trip to the DMV have been slammed to the ground and stomped on by a shoe that has just stepped in a fresh dog turd!!! The original 15-20 minute visit has just hit the hour and a half mark now! I haven’t even been given the opportunity to donate any money yet!! See what I mean when I say, “I wanna pull my hair out everytime I leave the DMV!” It’s always something I swear!!!

2E4FC444-45E9-401D-8AB8-163F6E09E3D9.jpeg

Let’s hope this madness will end. After taking 2 trips back to the house I really don’t want to have to go somewhere else to finalize his whole renewing of my drivers license. Plus I told my employer I would be in at 11 A.M. and it is nearly that time right now. I’m no longer in California so DMV visits never take this long. I figured they open at 9 A.M. there shouldn’t be an issue being back to work by 11 A.M.

Again, the man motions me to the counter. I ask him is the passport will suffice. I heard those magical words, “Yes, that works just fine”. Oh thank God this is finally coming to an end. That also means this post is approaching an end too. It’s not my fault, it’s the DMV’s fault for making this post so long.

One last thing before I end this post, what is the cost in Washington State to renew a drivers license with a Class A CDL endorsement....
B517DCE8-B780-4F1E-9418-F5E53CFCA5D1.jpeg

Now I gotta get to work so I can make some money to replenish my bank account....Dang!!! Oh ya and also another thing.... they changed my Drivers license number!!! You know that one I have had since I was 16 years old. Now that is just messing with people’s minds. You just don’t go changing stuff like that, nope... no way.... bad move!!

Until next time...
37AC50FA-CBDC-403C-B80D-29BF39095985.gif
Weku Post

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now