ULOG #2: Resolving Ulogs.Org Issues

Software development has some bumpy roads - not everything goes smooth; expect bad things to happen.

This morning (yesterday) I helped Terry resolve some issues regarding ulogs.org. From hindsight, having a process in place could have prevented it from occuring.

After merging two PRs, the site came down. Terry messaged me and asked me if I could resolve those issues before going on a break. The key note I observed here was Terry maintained a friendly tone. A lot of things happened between the time the problem occurred and the time it was resolved, but I believe Terry and I agreed on a deployment workflow that will help prevent the problem from re-occurring.

Ulogs.org New Features

1) Updated Editor

image.png

This is already a great editor and Terry would like to keep its functionality. Changes were mostly adding collapsible text and an updated dropdown.

Link to Pull Request


2) Embedded Side Bar Youtube Video

image.png

This one was a bit tricky since there were no existing component in the busy codes to arbitrarily add video widgets to any location on the screen. What was available were embedded videos in posts which were too big for the side bar.

For this change, I added a new VideoEmbed component whose width and height were fixed. The playback button is still our of place but the video can be played with a click.

Link to Pull Request


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center