Marvel has Found Their Ms. Marvel

msmarvelimanvellanisplit.png

Yes, you knew that a Ms. Marvel TV show is coming to Disney+ in what now appears to be the very distant future, but now the role has been cast. I introduce you to Iman Vellani. This will be her first acting performance.

Marvel really wanted to get the casting right and they did. Kamala Khan is a 16 year who lives in New Jersey and who comes from an immigrant family from Pakistan. Iman Vellani is 18 year old who lives in Canada, and her parents are Pakistani immigrants so yeah, perfect casting cultural wise. I wouldn't say age wise because I think Vellani will probably be 20 when the show will start filming.

All of the headlines are excited that Marvel has cast their first Muslim superhero, I am excited about a different thing. Their biggest fan. Ms. Marvel is a superfan of Captain Marvel and the Avengers and she's a superhero all on her own. She even writes fan-fiction. She's us on the small and later-big screen. It is going to be so much fun to watch. And you'll bet that Kevin Feige will find a subtle or not so subtle way to show Marvel fans what he thinks of them through her. Although I would expect that more in the movies then on the show.

She has her own TV show coming as we know, but it's her appearance in Captain Marvel 2 that I am really excited about. That's where her superfan side will probably shine. Unless Brie Larson will agree to appear on her show which I totally fully support. I also really hope she'll be part of young Avengers. I don't think she's part of the team in the comics, but it will be fun to see her with them anyway.

The comic is so great that I have really high hopes for this show and the character in the MCU.

MCU fans are super excited about the casting. It's been enough time that people forgot about the controversy surrounding the showrunner - Bisha K. Ali. She did some writing before. She was a writer in one episode of Sex Eduction and she was a writer on Four Weddings and a Funeral TV show. I don’t know if this says anything about how this show will be like. After it was announced in August that she will be the showrunner of Ms. Marvel she deleted 5 thousand twitts and locked all of her social media accounts. She made some more then controversial statements in the past, but I don't know if that will affect the show. It usually doesn't. It's still a Marvel show under the guidance of Kevin Feige. I have no doubt that this time gap is intentional. And that it will be a great show, even though we don't know what to expect out of Marvel-Disney+ shows.

Some more casting announcement will make everyone feel much better about the show. Most importantly, I want to see who they will cast as Bruno. Everything else seem minor in my opinion.

I'm excited to see Kamala Khan joining the MCU. She can bring so many fun elements with her. Similarly to Spider-Man in way I guess. But also, with her shape-shifting abilities, she can be like a much more fun Mystique. And just generally fun with her embiggening powers. I hope she will end up a really fun character.

Are you excited about the show? What do you think about Ms. Marvel?

Source image

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Sharing will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now