Mushroom Guard: Painting + Step-by-step Process

Here's a little mushroom guard I had painted while ago.

20170910.jpg

It was a very simple piece, but I thought I'd share my process as this is the usual one I'd use for most of my work (right now, anyway). Note: Currently, I'm using Photoshop CC.

mushling_gif.gif

Below are little explanations/a brief breakdown of the steps involved.


  1. Sketch
    20170910_01.jpg
    I always start off with a rough sketch. Good to keep it loose here to keep the energy and flow of the character in the piece.

  2. Local values
    20170910_02.jpg
    Starting to block in the local values for the little guy.

  3. Lighting
    20170910_03.jpg
    Brushing in some basic lighting, and still keeping it greyscale so I can try my best to make sure the overall values work.

  4. Colour
    20170910_04.jpg
    I put on a colour layer on top of the B+W image, and start painting in some colours.

  5. Levels
    20170910_05.jpg
    Making some adjustments to the level to push the contrast and how I'd like the light to hit the character.

  6. Colour Balance
    20170910_06.jpg
    I set up a colour balance layer on top of all the previous ones, to bring in more cool or warm tones.

  7. PAINting
    20170910_07.jpg
    Now, I start painting/rendering the image. This part of the process is usually PAINtful, or amazingly therapeuthic. I also tend to turn off my "base layers" (sketches, etc.) and clean up the silhouette to take away all the unneeded noise.

  8. Spicy Sauce
    20170910_08.jpg
    Usually, at this point, I'm pretty tired of painting and blending, so I entertain myself by adding some particles or smaller details in the piece. For this guy, I've added some spores, with the idea that if he were a game character that could be his basic move. Some other examples would be whiskers, freckles, leaves, etc., or throwing on a colour dodge layer to give it some "pzazz".
    The spicy sauce is usually added in an instant (and can be tweaked later); personally, it helps me get through and keep painting a piece to as refined a state as possible because it helps me visualise the end result a little better.

  9. Finishing - Final
    20170910_09.jpg
    And the piece is pretty much done! At the final stages, I clean up the piece as much as I can and throw in all 3rd-level details (dirt on the feet, wear and tear on equipment, etc.). I usually try to give my characters some "footing" by adding a (very simple) drop shadow on the ground.
    Usually, I also throw on a gradient map to make sure the temperature for the piece feels right, and I sharpen the image a little at the end too.


And that's it! It's not a terribly complicated process, and outside of any adjustments or drastic changes, I generally keep everything on one layer the moment painting starts.

I hope you enjoyed it and that this could help with your workflow and process in Photoshop.

Happy painting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center