Gardening with pomodoro

image.png

I have read about the Pomodoro Technique I learned that it is a time management method developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s. It's designed to improve productivity and focus by breaking your work into intervals, traditionally 25 minutes in length, separated by short breaks. Here's how it works:

  1. Choose a task you want to work on.
  2. Set a timer for 25 minutes (this is one "Pomodoro").
  3. Work on the task with full concentration until the timer rings.
  4. When the timer rings, take a 5-minute break to relax and recharge.
  5. After completing four Pomodoros, take a longer break of around 15-30 minutes.

The idea behind the Pomodoro Technique is that the time pressure of the 25-minute work period encourages you to stay focused and avoid distractions. The short breaks help prevent burnout and maintain your energy throughout the day. So, how did I apply what I learned about Pomodoro? I tried it with gardening see below

Step 1: Choose A Gardening Task
I begin by selecting a gardening task. It could be planting new flowers, weeding, or pruning those overgrown bushes.

Step 2: Set Pomodoro Timer
Ready the gardening tools and set a timer for 25 minutes. This is my "Garden Pomodoro." I imagine it as my dedicated gardening sprint.

Step 3: Dive into the Garden
With timer ticking, I immerse mself in my gardening task. IFocus on it with my attention. Then I plant those flowers with care or weed that garden bed like a pro.

Step 4: Enjoy a 5-Minute Break*
When the timer rings, it's time for a well-deserved break. Step back, take a deep breath, and appreciate the beauty of my garden. Sip some water, soak in the sun, or simply relax.

Step 5: Repeat and Reward
After my break, I return to the garden for another Pomodoro session. Rinse and repeat! After completing four Pomodoros, I reward myself with a more extended break. Maybe indulge in a cool garden drink or admire my handiwork.

By incorporating the Pomodoro Technique into my gardening routine, I realized that I accomplish more in less time while still enjoying the process. It's a perfect way to maintain focus, prevent burnout, and see my garden thrive.

So, are you ready to dig in? Try the Pomodoro Technique in your garden today and watch your green oasis flourish!

Thank you for reading


Tuesdays often mark the midpoint of the workweek, which means you're making progress and there's still time to achieve your goals before the weekend

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now