Tsukiji Fish Market

Tsukiji fish market is a wonderful place to stop by if you are going to be visiting Japan. I am not sure if it is closed to the public now but that is the rumor I heard. I actually went a few years ago and had a wonderful time just looking around.

Tsukiji fish market is one of the biggest fish markets in the world, so you can find just about any kind of fish you would like. I even found deep fried whale meat on a stick, which was very interesting.

I am not really sure how the fish market works, and if anyone can purchase fish, but I am sure that if you have the money you could probably purchase anything you want.

Walking around is a little bit of a task because there is always something going on, the floor is wet and slippery, and the smell of fish fills the air. If you decide to go, I would recommend wearing something casual, or something you might not mind getting dirty.

I mostly found it interesting because you could never see the kinds of fish they had there unless you go to a place like this. They had fresh shrimp, live eel, fresh clams, whole tuna, and other delicious looking things.

This is the end result of Tsukiji fish market. I actually went to a sushi restaurant which was very close to the market which was a bad idea. Most of the tourists stay around that area so the prices are doubled and sometimes tripled. Take my advice; walk about one block away from that area and you will see the prices drop.

This post was moved from my blogspot site.
www.mynewlifeintokyo.blogspot.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now