When will I learn how to learn?

Whenever something comes out of the blue
And just knocks my feet out from under me
Leaves me flat on my back with no way to get up
Like my face swelled up so much
That it feels like my teeth are being pushed out
I know I missed something, something obvious
I lay there attempting to still the noise that always wells up in response
Forcing myself to be the observer
Not taking it personal
Or letting my mind project the millions of reasons why it's all real
This time as I asked "show me" these are the words that came
"Every river flows to the ocean whether it flows east or west"
So I lay here and wait
I get up to do what I must, bear through the seeming pain
And then lay down again and wait some more
Many things come in these endless moments
Though most never see them
I wonder how much I also don't see?
I have raced ahead of my teacher
Upon hearing what the problem was
I ran ahead to fix it
My teacher wasn't done
But silently and patiently walked
Watching me as the distance grew between us
I see him now approaching me with a smile
Where I lay struggling
Nothing but love & understanding in those eyes
One day I will learn, but today I wait
Until times spans the space I so hastily crossed
Placing me not so gently where I should already be
//

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center