Encaustic Art Demonstration of Auragraph for Alissa, Part 2

final.jpg

Pen & Ink, with Colored Pencil and Oil Pastel with Collage Elements and Encaustic on Wood, 11" x 14", Commissioned.

Talisman:
sigil1.jpg

sigil.jpg

"I am protected by God and am a sovereign being, free from tyranny." - USE IT!!


This video shows me taking an old painting that is already wired and has remnants of the old painting on it and showing my encaustic set up.


This video shows how I covered the substrate with wax and evened it out with the heat gun. Then mounted a piece of blue tissue paper on that substrate and then heated it with the heat gun so the wax beneath would rewarm and stick to it and then I coated the front side with wax and heated it to make an even surface.
Next, I painted both the front and back of the drawing with wax, and mounted it on the tissued substrate. Then I used a brayer over a piece of vellum to cement it to the substrate -
And then added another layer of wax to seal it into the substrate but then went back in with a clay carving tool to remove the wax from the drawing again.


This video shows the first layer of decorative oil pastel I added to the substrate.


This last video shows me extending the drawing outward onto the substrate before I "finished" it - it shows how the heat gun seals the oil paint - melts it and makes interesting textures and shapes as the oil pastel becomes liquified into oil paint in the hot wax making psychadelic shapes.

Previous Post

@in2itiveart/auragraph-for-alissa-just-the-drawing-no-reading-part-1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center