The Curse of a Tremor

I have a (insert swear words here) tremor. I hope you were ready with an abundance of really choice curse words. My hands shake! It is a serious handicap.IMG_0237.JPG

I can no longer type on a traditional keyboard using two hands. I use a touchpad keyboard... one finger at a time.

I must now use cups with a lid and straw to drink. Like a child with a sippy cup, this prevents spills. If I am in a restaurant, I must use two hands to hold my glass to my mouth.

I can no longer use a pen or pencil. I cannot sign my name. This is embarrassing when I can't sign for a package or a credit card receipt.

I can't cut food using a knife and fork. The ability to move my knife hand or a cutting motion is gone. I try to order finger food or something I can scoop. Soup is out because it spills between the bowl and my mouth.

I can't pick things up using my finger and thumb. I can't use a screwdriver because I am unable to hold the driver steady to the screw.

Enough! More than enough?

I am not complaining. I am functional.

The purpose of this post is to remind you that the things you can do today may be practically impossible tomorrow. Tremors like mine affect about 200,000 people each year. There is no known cause or cure. If you get one, you learn to live with it.

Here is today's beauty.
IMG_0254.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center