Tree Tuesday: More Moss!

IMG_7827.jpg

First, thank you to @sunscape for reminding me of the spanish moss I saw in the woods last summer! Click here for her post

During a walk in the Maine woods along the coast we came upon a huge stand of, I think, birches, but they were just completely taken over by spanish moss! It was truly a site.

This little mini ecosystem must have been just perfect for the moss...on the coast, humid, but protected...I guess that's the recipe! Although, I wonder how the moss looks in winter...hmmm, will have to ask my friend who lives near this spot.

I don't think any of my photos really captured the expanse of the moss in this section of woods, but it was truly incredible. I love spanish moss as a filler/spiller in some summer pots - now I know where to go to get really fresh moss!

Here's a close-up
IMG_7828.jpg

Happy gardening everyone! And don't forget on Tree Tuesday to...look up!

@gardenlady
(photos from my 6+)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center