Massachusetts Museum of Modern Art

Doing a walkabout drawing at MassMoMA


The sketch


sketch.jpg

It is always interesting to bring my sketchbook into a museum. After getting over my initial self-consciousness, there are usually amazing possibilities for composing impressions. This is the first of two sketches I made there.

The final painting


massMoMA-color.jpg

I created a vector version of the sketch and developed a color palette for it. Then I painted it onto a 24x30” canvas using acrylic paints. What do you think? Does it remind you of any other artists? I have many influences, including Stuart Davis, Joan Miro, Francis Bacon, Kandinsky, Picasso.

SketchTravel


footer-art-stream.jpg

© All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

Thanks for reading this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment below.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center