TRAVEL THROWBACK: NEPAL #1

Faint breeze carried messages across the Bay of Bengal on behalf of long lost friends nestled within a landlocked Himalayan Kingdom. Mountain ranges dominating the Annapurna Sanctuary were persuading me to return. The calling pulsated intensely through my veins.


DSC_0042.JPG

River formed by melted glacier water near ABC TIMS checkpoint


Do you know that Annapurna in Sanskrit means sustenance? The gorgeous Goddess of nourishment resides on top of the mountain. A taste of melted glacier water was so refreshing and memorable. Simply out of this world.


DSC_0091.JPG


The journey toward Annapurna Base Camp was one of the most physically demanding trip I've ever undertaken. It took me 6 months to prepare for this trip. I miss Nepal so much that I am already planning the next adventure in my head. Even if it means I have to walk there all the way from Malaysia crossing into Thailand, Myanmar and Bangladesh borders.


DSC_0033.JPG

Beautiful Nepali Girls


Most of us take for granted basic necessities such as electricity, internet connection and public transportation. Many kids in Nepal especially those living in the highlands of the Himalaya still had to walk for hours to get to school. Some unlucky ones were unable to attend school as they had to start working at a young age to provide for their family. Child labor and child marriage are common societal issues in Nepal.


DSC_0044.JPG

Stone Houses


Another reason I love it up in the Himalayas was due to the mixture of eclectic people I met while trekking. Actually the real reason somewhat leaned towards hunky eye candies with six packs. The lasses were tremendously well toned and inspiring too. Given that polyandry were acceptable in certain remote parts of Himalaya, it's difficult to determine my sexual orientation. For sure sexual tension guarantee to sizzle up there.🤣


DSC_0063.JPG

My porter cooling off by lifting up his shirt. I'm so glad to help fund medical expenses for his wife's heart problem. The mountain dog accompanied us for almost an hour.


Nepal is one of those places rich in breathtaking scenery and truly enrich travelers in so many ways. I've been to several spots in Nepal yet there are still so much to learn and discover everyday. For example, walking from one village to another took approximately 3 hours. That was considered near. Walking 10 to 30 km a day was common. Load shedding was less irritating up in the Himalaya than in the low lands. Remember to slather on sunscreen every two hours or be prepared for the worst sunburn ever. Being on the roof of the world was no joke!


DSC_0099.JPG

Donkeys Transporting Goods

DSC_0101.JPG


Climbing 3300 stone steps to reach Chhomrong Village was a sadistic type of torture. The way my butt and knee felt afterwards were strangely satisfying. There, I reached my fullest potential of becoming a beautiful blessed sweaty mess. To add salt to injury, a handsome man had to walk over to greet me at my worst. If you ever see me without my makeup, please ignore me!


DSC00011.JPG

Long bridge leading to Chhomrong

DSC00013.JPG

DSC_0127.JPG


Before heading to Nepal I haven't the faintest idea of the diversity of local population. The lower parts of Annapurna Sanctuary had Indo-Aryan feature looking people. The higher parts of Annapurna range consist of Tibeto-Burmese looking people such as Gurung and Tamang people. I can easily assimilate here if I decide to apply a bindi on my forehead, between brows. It's not uncommon that some people required days walking to their respective villages even after 7 hours of bus ride.

To be continued...

Thank you for reading!

Wishing all a happy weeekend!

Cheers,
Wheat

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency