Fjadrargljufur - Iceland

Fjadrargljufur is a massive canyon on the south coast of Iceland. This canyon is about two kilometers long and 100 meters deep on the farther side. Canyon sides offer a magnificent view, between them flow Skafta river which water originates from Geirlandshraun mountain. There is also a waterfall in the back side of the canyon, you can see this if you walk the walking path up till the end. It is believed that Fjadrargljufur formed at the end of the last Ice Age, about nine thousand years ago.

Obviously, we took the hiking track and walked till the end. I don't take long, about an hour in total there and back.
It wasn't really hard but I wouldn't recommend taking this trek for elderly people it gets pretty steep in places.

DSC_0152.jpg


DSC_0116.jpg


DSC_0120.jpg


On the track there were fences which prevent people to off track, well do they? I didn't really follow and went over the fence to get better views. The reason why they don't want people there is to preserve the nature there is on the canyon sides, sadly people don't follow this rule, I included. I just wanted to get better angles to take photos and I'm a daredevil, I love heights. Because I broke the rules I can show you the pictures like this.

DSC_0122.jpg


DSC_0123.jpg


DSC_0126.jpg


DSC_0127.jpg


DSC_0140.jpg


DSC_0142.jpg


DSC_0143.jpg

We daredevils
DSC_0148.jpg


DSC_0151.jpg




Untitled-4.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency