Toe Rings Or 'See Those Rings On Her Toes'

XonMobiaa.jpg

The band played some while we were dancing/Then I swear she let me wear her toe ring -- Rustic Overtones, “Brand New Friend” (1998)

What is it about toe rings?

When I once received an assignment to research toe rings I had to laugh. It's still amazing to me how I was researching bedroom games one minute and the God-fearing Amish the next. That wasn't what really got me though.

What really made me smile was something a hot little 19 year-old I dated back when I was in my early 40s once told me. She said that girls who wear toe rings are "goers". . . meaning they have a morally casual attitude and are sexually active. (Considering my experiences with this girl while I was dating her I am really surprised that SHE did not wear a toe ring . . . but I digress . . .)

History

Since the dawn of time, women have found new ways to adorn their bodies. One such decoration is jewelry. Toe rings are traditionally rings made of various metals and (more recently) non-metals and can be worn on any of the toes.

Some sources indicate that women have been wearing metal toe rings can be traced as far back as the Vedic times (ca. 500 BCE) where Sanskrit texts list toe rings among "the sixteen traditional accouterments with which every woman could adorn herself." Historically speaking, toe rings have been worn in India for hundreds of years. Styles and practices have varied over the years concerning materials and the addition of other toe rings but Hindi women traditionally wear a large silver ring on the big toe of the left foot to indicate marriage.

pinterest.jpg

In Western countries, toe rings are generally worn on the second or third toes of either foot and are not in pairs. Women wear them more than men and often coordinate them with matching toenail polish and/or ankle bracelets. Experts consider them to be a relatively new accessory worn with open-toe footwear or bare feet.

So what do you think? Personally, I can't believe someone "foot" the bill for this piece. Was this article an amazing "feat" or should I "toe" the line and stick to my music and stupid questions? (Sorry.)

Ice on your pinky ring, Ice on your toe ring -- Pretty Ricky, "Leave It All Up To You" (2007)

As always,
My name is Phoenix and . . . that's the bottom line.

(Above images courtesy of XonMobi and Pinterest)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center