TIR: THAT MIKE TYSON DOESN'T TIP…

Today I remember…

It was the late 1980's maybe early 1990's -- And New York nightclubs were booming… I was tending bar at one of the best, The Red Zone 54th St between 9th and 10th ave. The space itself was an old sound stage, were the used to film the original Dark Shadows.

But it was transformed into the hottest nightclub of it's time… On the second floor, was the V.I.P. room which also housed a 3 star restaurant, nice big bar area, lounge and a balcony over looking the madness of the dance floor…

club


There was a V.I.P. elevator that I can remember riding with Cindy Crawford, Elle McPherson, Grace Jones etc., etc… It was amazing. Every night as we set-up for the evening the lighting guy (David) would get on the mic and announce to any in the club to cover their eyes or look directly at the floor -- he was going to set the clubs state of the art lasers (he didn't want to blind any of us).

The crew at the club was like family - bartenders, security, waitresses, coat check, door people and even management (including the GM) -- we were all very tight, even hanging together on our nights off. After every shift, at the end of the night when all the patrons were out of the building, we would all converge on the V.I.P. room to unwind and party a little ourselves… One night while we were hanging out up there the owners (Maurice and Angelo) and the GM (Brett) told us we were going to host the.., first ever Hip-Hop party on Thursday night…

Sounds pretty cool, right..?

Well, that Thursday all the bartenders, security and cocktail waitresses were told to meet at the GM's apartment, around the block from the club before we opened… We were told that things could get pretty crazy… We were not allowed to give the customers any glassware, not even bottled beer, everything had to be poured into plastic cups -- except bottles of champagne.

I was working in the V.I.P. room with one other bartender, Nancy (beautiful girl and amazing bartender).., and we would likely be serving P. Diddy and any other celebrity that showed up… Well, that turned out to be complete crap -- as zoon as the night started the place was swarmed by mobs of people rushing in and going wherever they wanted…

We had the head of security standing behind the bar with us and it was so loud I couldn't hear what anybody was ordering, so I leaned over the bar to try and hear better.., and the security (Big Mike -- scary guy) grabbed me by the back of my collar and yanked me back -- "No leaning over the bar tonight, they all snuck in straight razor blades in the soles of their shoes and they will cut your forehead so you bleed into your eyes and then beat the shit out of you because the blood will be flowing.., directly into your eyes…

Next thing I knew Nancy (the other bartender) was gone… All the women that were working that night were told to leave -- it was too dangerous… So, there I am with cases of Moet Chandon champagne, right on the floor (piss warm) and they were drinking it straight from the bottle, like a beer.

We were charging $300 a bottle and it didn't phase any of them… Lo and behold.., I look up and there is Mike Tyson, big smile on his face -- "Let me get 2 bottles of champagne." He takes the bottles, hands me $600 on the nose -- no tip.., takes a swig out of each of the bottles and looks at me and says -- "Can you pour some grenadine in there" and walks away --

Without Tipping Me A Penny!

With all the craziness that went on that night.., the thing that sticks out in my mind the most… Was Mike Tyson coming to my bar 3 times drinking a total of 6 bottles of champagne right from the bottle, with grenadine added and -- NOT TIPPING ME A SINGLE CENT THE WHOLE NIGHT!

So, Today I Remember -- Mike Tyson doesn't tip!


Post Script:

On a more serious.., and sad note… I remembered this today, as I was thinking about a fellow bartender we lost to AIDS… Today being World AIDS day --

Today I remember.., Patrick (Paddy) - not just a great bartender but a great guy.

Cheers, Patrick.., R.I.P



Image Source: 1 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now