"It's incredible how much there is to do when there is nothing you have to do anymore"

My life has undergone a most significant timewarp of sorts recently, and it reminds me of a friend of mine and what she said years ago after she quit her job she never liked and took a year off to find her passions and to work on her spiritual path.

As she put it: "It's incredible how much there is to do when there is nothing you have to do..."

Some would think that quitting a job would mean total boredom, even utter meaninglessness in life. But quite the opposite seems to be true, at least as long as you have some aspirations and felt for a long time that you can't even begin to occupy your time with your own development: The day can't be long enough to get stuff done that matters to you.

Suddenly there are a million things that fill the day until it has passed in a flash.

I often wonder recently where the day has gone. Dare I say more than ever. I can always name a few of the things I did during the day but it seldomly seems to make sense how they would literally eat up the whole day. Granted, a day at "work" can also feel like it has gone by quickly without one being able to name more than 5 things one did that day. But following one's passions or even just preparing things for a big voyage does require a lot of time and energy. Even when those things are not fun but a lot of work, I still find time flies by, sometimes to a point where I even feel sad that I didn't get to my actual passions (just to preparation for a time where passions will fill my entire day).

The passage of time during these times of travel-preparations do hint at the view that I am actually in a kind of flow state most of the day, even doing things I feel restless or even challenged about. Guess that's a good sign no?

And so I am easing into this new passage of time more and more, trying to be less clingy and stingy with my time and tusting the flow of life more and more. Trusting that I am moving in a direction that will free up space to do what I want to do with my life.

I wonder, how do you feel time passing these last weeks? Has the passage of time increased in speed for you as well? For me it never flew by faster...

1.jpg


Img srcs:
unsplash.com


Thanks for stopping by <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center