One of our last preps

There was one item we still needed to make our prep right for our family

Everyone has different needs, so when you prep for disasters you really need to customize it to what your family will need, based off your resources. A couple of years ago we bought 1.53 acres of land and built a house on it. With the goal we would till up some of the land to grow our own food, but because we couldn't afford the one we wanted we built some raised beds the last couple of years for our garden. Which the first year we were here there was a crazy lady next door and she poisoned our garden, as we didn't have it fenced in. We learned from that and protected our garden last year. But we still were not able to produce what we wanted. But I have been saving a little here and a little there in a fund for a tiller. I finally saved enough to buy one, but I hadn't yet because I was gonna wait till May to buy it. But then this pandemic happened and I want to make sure I have everything my family needs. And easy to grow food is an important prep, I got to thinking, what if they decide to stop sales on any non-essential items in stores and what if in May I can't go buy one? Crazy thought to have right? That is what my husband thought but decided to let me have my way because he knows once I get a hold of a thought like this I won't let go. So we went out and bought one. I looked at many we went to 4 different stores to be sure what one we wanted. Online I found one at Home Depo I liked but even though they said they had it in stock they didn't have any. Menards and Lowes high dollar ones felt cheap. But Tractor supply had a $999 model on sale for $699 and the quality is heavy duty, you can feel it and the design is much better. So we went with that one it's a Cub Cadet and I am sure this will make planting so much quicker and easier this year and we will be able to plant in the ground with our good Indiana rich soil. Nothing against the store bought soil but you don't get as much with your garden as you do when you till up the ground.

20200327_163259.jpg

20200327_163307.jpg

20200327_163315.jpg

20200327_163320.jpg

20200327_163326.jpg

20200327_163333.jpg

So ironically as soon as we got home

I was online checking the news of what had been going on that day and I saw that Howard County has decided to put a ban on non-essential items. Banning Essential businesses from selling non-essential items. Seriously you can't make this shit up. Here is the story I saw coming out of the Kokomo Tribune
Banned purchases
Howard County has banned the sale of these items in local stores during its stay-at-home order:
Jewelry.
Furniture.
Home and lawn decor.
Toys and games.
Carpets.
Rugs and flooring.
Non-emergency appliances.
Music.
Books and magazines.
Craft and art supplies.
Paint.
Entertainment electronics.

So those planning on getting something for their kids to do while this pandemic is going on in that county can't now. So my husband ate his words quickly and said whoa I bet that comes to our county soon. We are two counties away from the epicenter of the outbreak here. So that feeling of getting any items that is going to make life easier was a smart bet to do. I want to get some more canning jars before they ban non-essential items here too. Cause I want to be able to can our food when we harvest it later on in the year, and if this virus is as deadly as they say it is, then we didn't move fast enough and things are gonna get real bad real quick.

tecnoshive.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center