I found out a way to get excellent project management without having to use the legacy web 2.0 or SQL databases..

Because of the programming project I recently started, I was in a need of something to keep my thoughts and ideas organized, something that would help me keeping my workflow structured, and stop me from going into things too impulsively so as not to get bored too quickly.

I originally got some inspiration from this video by HealthyGamerGG on YouTube, and then came across The Point & Click Devlog talking about Trello, a certain Kanban board style project management suite.

The problem with Trello is that it seems to be a centralised web service which is completely against my ethos as an Free and Open Source Software (FOSS) guy who is into Web3 technologies. I also don't need to host it for multiple people, just myself, and perhaps to occasionally show it off to others.


IPFS peer list

So what did I end up doing?

I installed the Interplanetary Filesystem IPFS where files live in a collaborative encrypted peer-to-peer cloud!

I've had some experience with p2p technologies in the past, including the FreenetProject, ZeroNet and IPFS. This gave me the idea when I was thinking of using TiddlyWiki again (TiddlyWiki is yet another interesting piece of software engineering I had earlier tried out).


IPFS file browser

I'm currently working on an peer-hosted intraweb page based on TiddlyWiki, on IPFS. Check it out!

It's kind of interesting and fun at the same time. I frankly feel like a kid again. Furthermore, I can use it as a permanent "self-hosted" base for myself without running any web servers or having to worry about web security. That's because it being TiddlyWiki, means everything is contained in a static file, and since it is hosted on IPFS I am the only one who can update that file.

I originally tried it out with the rudimentary Task Management Example plugin, but I soon realized I wanted more, not just a simple to-do list. I was even contemplating trying to expand the task manager for my needs.

Until I accidentally found something through a completely unrelated web search...

I tried finding something Bitcoin related for TiddlyWiki, I don't know why. Anyhow, I found a git page dedicated to a Muuri Storyview plugin, that eventually led me to a Muuri-Kanban-plugin on the same page.

Kanban


Muuri Kanban in action.

The current board is only for testing.

So I currently have installed the Muuri Kanban board style plugin for TiddlyWiki, together with a mind-mapper TiddlyMap, making my TiddlyWiki instance feel like a great project management platform.

Now I just have to quickly learn how to use it efficiently, and make some aesthetic modifications to make it look nice.

Hopefully I can eventually use it to structure also my life a bit in addition to hosting my project planner.

I have no idea why most of the Kanban apps I originally found either want to separate me from my money, or comparatively to install huge dependencies like PHP, web servers and SQL servers while everything could be easily stored statically.

This way, if I use IPNS, I will be able to host a permanent web page on IPFS without needing to bother myself with servers and hosting services.

No, if you'll excuse me, I'll go and set up my new Kanban board to my liking next.

See ya!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now