Three Tunes Tuesday: Celebrating The End By Passing On What Matters

Warning: This post speaks to the end of life. If this disturbs you, please leave now.

The Catholic faith celebrates many things with the formal congregating of mass, including funerals. These point-in-time celebrations can be an opportunity for introspection and regrowth, especially for those who may lament waywardness in their own life's journeys.

If I were orchestrate such a celebration on my behalf, there would be certain songs that I'd want included. Ones that capture my past while acknowledging the missed opportunities and potentials that define the future.


My opening procession song would likely be "Give A Little Bit" by Supertramp. It's a calling for us to open our hearts and souls to be part of the human collective. The song speaks of sharing life and love in ways that can extend hands to those who need the human touch of community to remind them that they matter.


My next selection is a soul-stirring journey of penitence. We've all had disagreements with people we care for. They can become more hateful with the ones we are closest to, because they should know me by now. Understand my thoughts and values. How could they be so cruel?!

Sometimes, the recurrence of these and related arguments break us apart. We feel so undervalued or misunderstood that actions become our shields, and hateful words our arrows, when all may be recovered if, as the song says, we listen as well as we hear. Put aside judgment. Repeat words and phrases back and forth until their true definitions and background are understood. It's a process that has served me well, whether with family or counseled students.


My last song expresses both a need and an ability to share our loving energy with each other.

There have been moments in my life where I feel like I'm falling from the skies with no parachute, staring down my demise as Earth rapidly approaches. On these days, I fear that if I looked at others in the same predicament, they would be desperately holding on to their unfurled parachute or other lifelines. They know these could be shared, but their poisoned minds have become too judgmental. Reaching out to help me would expose a humanistic side that the parts of society the connect with would shame them for doing so. So while they may despise themselves for being cruel, its easier than admitting that the color of my clothes or skin doesn't define us.

My salvation lies in the people that have grouped together to share parachutes and lifelines. Our shapes and sizes and everything in between don't matter in that moment. It's all about laying hands to ease our burdens together, so that we can land safely and carry on, knowing our unique beliefs should never keep us from coexisting.

#ttt
#threetunestuesday
#dreemerforlife

(All linked videos are from YouTube)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now