I stopped.

Life for the past month for me was very stressful. I had been worried with my visa. As you all know, I am not a citizen of this country and, it would have been a simple thing to just gather all my documents and apply.But then I found out the hard way that its not as simple as it is.

field5326822_1920.jpg
copyright by pixabay

For months I had been hopeful that the company where I was working will sponsor me but the arrival of COVID 19 aborted that plan. I was encouraged to seek other means of employment. Seek companies who are willing to sponsor me and my problems would be solved. The thing is, most of the companies are in COVID 19 affected areas and though it would have been logical to seek them out, reason triumphed this round.

I do not want to sound desperate. I want to be reasonable. COVID 19 as of now has no cure. I do not know the chances of surviving it but, at any point, I do not want to risk my life. Who can say that its truly gone especially on the affected areas? NO one will ever know.Unless there's a way one can determine exactly the people who have it apart from contact tracing, I am not going to risk my health. I only have this body and, I am determined to take care of it no matter what it cost.

I thought applying for independent working visa is simple.Its not. There are a lot of things I needed to do. A part of that is being discouraged to apply because I have a slim chance of getting invited. I felt so alone. I felt that no one is willing to help me and even those who are willing to do so do not have my best interests at heart.

So I stopped. Its not because I am giving up. I stopped so I could have time to see clearly where my perspectives lay.

Gone are the times where I felt that I needed to depend on someone to make reasonable decisions for me. I am my own woman. I have found my voice. Now I discovered that I am my own rescuer and advocate.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center