The Nectar Bar, Building a Blog & Building aBusiness.

Hi guys, Drake here, founder of The Nectar Bar. And I have finally decided to take the plunge and start a blog. So first a little back story on how it all started.

I began raising butterflies six years ago. It all started when I noticed “worms” eating my fennel and wondered what they were. Asking neighbors, they suggested pesticides to kill them. But I didn’t want to do that, I wanted to know exactly what they were. After some research, I learned they were the caterpillars of Black Swallowtail Butterflies. BLKswallowtailCat.jpg
And my obsession began.
BLKswallowtailF.jpg BLKswallowtailM.jpg
I read some great books and learned as much as I could. I took mentorship under Lepidopterists and other butterfly enthusiasts. In Spring of 2015, I became a Certified Texas Master Naturalist and became Native Landscape certified. July 2, 2015, I became the Project Manager/Coordinator of The Butterfly Learning Center at Phil Hardburger Park, in San Antonio, TX. I designed and built this project with the help of many volunteers. The BLC is an outdoor classroom with a native butterfly garden and a Butterfly hatch house for raise and release education. This sparked my journey into community projects and The Nectar Bar was formed.
The Nectar Bar is dedicated to the conservation of our pollinators. Our purpose is to inspire a hands-on learning experience about butterflies and other pollinators, the native plants they so desperately need to survive; and the benefits they bring to a healthy habitat. "The more you know, the more you grow", I like to say.
I do have a Facebook group (The Nectar Bar: Raising Butterflies) that provides a learning space to ask questions & interact with an online community, a YouTube channel for instructional learning videos (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC138nTrO2Z6Mqhqkfd5UXKw), and a business page (www.facebook.com/TheNectarBar), where you will hear about up coming events and other updates that are happening.
I am still building my business, but I also continue to learn & develop my skills in conservation/restoration efforts. I absolutely believe in giving back to the community and helping others whenever possible. I hope to inspire you to do the same.
Welcome to a journey of learning. I look forward to sharing with you again soon. So until next time, Peace, Love, and Butterflies. PeaceLoveButterflies.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now