The Tale I Hate to Tell - TheGrayContest Week 3

There is this tale i hate to tell about me. This tale bruised me and almost crushed my person. I was beginning to lose touch with reality and who i really was or i am (I'm trying to find my footing again).

broken
Image credit

Let me take you for a walk in my shoes may be you'll be able to relate with the tale i hate to tell and how why I'm still standing is because of encouragement. I've been trying to wrap my head around "A Tale i Hate to Tell" and i think this contest is a step on the path to my recovery

A Walk in my Shoes

I had a promising career in the broadcast industry and i was doing just fine. I used to work for a state media house and i was hot. In about a year, i got my salary doubled and had some perks attached to my role, because the team i worked with was more like the cash cow of my organisation.
set

With time, my role became a comfort zone for me. Knowing full well how that potentials are buried in the womb of comfort zones, i longed for something more that would stretch me; i wanted something in the private sector where things work.

In a matter of time, i got an offer in the corporate world. I was excited at the more than attractive offer. Apart from the prospects for steady career growth, the pay was about 450% my pay with the state media house, alongside some other perks. Who wouldn't jump at such an offer?

I wasn't quick to jump at the offer because i was 23 weeks (about 4 months pregnant) then and this new role required that i travelled out of my state for 18 weeks (about 5 months) for training.
preg

I had concerns about my health and safety and that of my baby. I let the fears i had behind me and took the offer all the same.

The training was rigorous academic work in an entirely new career. With God and serious determination to succeed, I pulled through the training successfully coming second in my class and setting a new record for the training institute in one of the courses i offered.

I was safely delivered of a baby boy during the last week of my training after all courses were done. I was very happy I returned home safely before labour came upon me and that my baby came to time. I looked forward to resumption to work as the custom is and then apply for maternity leave from my work station. I had it all planned out in my head but i was wrong all along. Here is how the tale i hate to tell started unfolding.

I was shocked when i was told I wouldn't be deployed yet because I'd just put to bed. I thought the organisation was being generous to give me 4 months to tend my baby before resuming until another shocker was pulled against the rules.

It was a really sad evening for me when i got the call I wouldn't be paid for the 4 months I'd be on mat leave. "Oh my goodness! Who does that? Why?" and many more questions flooded my mind. What would happen to those I'd promised to reach out to when i hammer? How will I survive for the entire period? I made calls to see if that decision could be reversed, but to no avail.

why
Image credit

I looked forward to the end of the 4 long months like one waiting for the second coming of Christ. Finally, the waiting period ended and i heaved a sigh of relief thinking the wait was over. Alas, i was wrong again.The waiting period just changed gear and this time, it is tainted with so much uncertainty. "The organisation is restructuring and appraising its workforce" and until that is done, i wouldn't be resuming.

My heart was more than broken. Hearing that at the other end of the phone sent numbness down my spine and dumbness took over my tongue. I was lost for words and hot tears travelled in quick succession down my chubby cheeks.

So, do I have a job? I think so cos I have my offer of employment letter
When am i resuming back to work? No idea as of yet
How have i been able to cope and survive through it all? Encouragement

My immediate and extended families have been my support system and they've been providing the encouragement i need to forge ahead.

I have lost some things within me but the reason I haven't lost it all is encouragement

encouragement
Image Credit

Here is the tale i hate to tell.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now