Baby Mockingbirds - Day 149 - Daily Haiku

20180621_194624 - Baby mockingbirds begging for food.jpg

Mockingbird flew off
drawing me away from her
babies in the nest

Woo hoo! We have hatchlings already! I was getting ready to spray the grape vines with neem oil, when the mockingbird took off to lead me away from the nest, and when I glances in the nest, fully expecting to see eggs, instead I was greeted with an expectant orange beak!

So far I can only fully account for two hatchlings, though it kinda sorta looked like there was indeed a third, but they were pretty sleepy, and only raising their beaks for a few seconds at a time. I'll know more tomorrow, when they've had a chance to rest from escaping their eggs. Marek saw three eggs, but as well all know, they don't always all hatch.

And the most fabulous news of all . . . my laptop is back, and suffered (almost) no damage from my dousing it with a cup of peppermint tea. Thank goodness I knew enough about electronics not to turn it on prematurely, and the guy from our local computer store (Repair Ninjas in Cookeville - LOVE these guys!) said I likely saved it as a result.

In any case, he called me this morning and let me know that he'd checked the functionality and couldn't find anything wrong, so I was good to go. In the end, he only charged me $25 plus tax, which was a fraction of what I expected to pay, or what Compugeeks would have charged me, so woo hoo!!! These guys are awesome.

Of course, while posting this, I discovered the part of the keyboard that is not operating as preferred, which is keyboard shortcuts. In attempting to reduce the file size of my photos, Control-v results in typing a v, not quite what I was hoping for, so basically I'm having to go to the drop down menus to accomplish anything.

Guessing I might have to replace the keyboard after all, but maybe there's an easier fix, so I'll call in the morning.

But, in the meanwhile, I'm majorly jazzed that my laptop is still working, that my memory is intact, that my hard drives are still functional, and that it is every bit as awesome a miracle as when I got my previous laptop back after "losing" it on the train from Frankfurt to Krakow.

Life is wonderful. And I am ridiculously grateful for ALL of it! ;-)

#tribesteemup #teamgirlpowa #steemsugars #petphotography #smartphonephotography #animals #birds #buddies #siblings #relaxed #friends #love #togetherness #family #isleofwrite @hatchlings #nestlings

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center