ఇంగ్లీష్ నేర్చుకునే నా ప్రయాణం

For a while I have not posted (despite saying I will become a full time blogger) because I decided to actually focus on learning English. My knowledge so far was only from talking and movies. So yesterday I have sat down and learned all the English grammar. I now will write all posts in direct English instead of writing in Telugu and translating. I am trying to learn how to see the world from a native speaker eyes. So I am forcing myself to think in English to help understand the word usage. No longer is that a చెట్టు... it is a "tree".

I have lists of all the verbs and their tenses and the pronouns and when to use apostrophes. I have downloaded this sheet from online as a "proofreading checklist". So now I proofread so many times to get the perfect post with 100% grammar. It took this post 1 hour to read all the words and check if they are correct. This post would have been finished in 5 minutes if I had used my Telugu version.

The funny part is, I spent so much time on the grammar that I never finished writing the post. So now I have to put the content together.

I hope to become better in English from here.

Thinking in English is hard. All the phrases change. For example. Americans will understand when I ask "Did you write the exam", which is translated from "పరిక్ష రాసావ​". But when speaking and thinking, they ask if I took the exam and not write it.

English is confusing.

English is complex.

English is weird.

English is new.

English is scary.

English is risky.

English is different.

English is embarrassing.

But I will master it regardless. It is the world lingua franca and to know it is important. And I believe that:

English is fun.

English is a lot for life.

English is important.

English is for everyone.

So for now, I will be back to reading and writing in English instead of Telugu.. but I will also continue translating for those who are not ready. That is not for all posts since I am trying to write in English and make more content, but translation takes time which I could use for a new post.

P.S. The worst part of English is the alphabet and spellings. In Telugu, each letter is one syllable. So spelling the English word "syllable" would only be 3 letters--సిలబ్ల్.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center