Kevin Smith, TV director and 'Clerks' filmmaker, survives 'massive heart attack'

**MV5BMjQxMjgxNTkwMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTA4NTMyOTE@._V1_UX214_CR0,0,214,317_AL_.jpg
**
Thatkevinsmith i used to be trying to do a killer standup unique this nighttime however i might’ve gone too a ways. After the first show, i felt kinda nauseous. I threw up a little but it didn’t seem to help. Then i started out sweating buckets and my chest felt heavy. Turns out i had a huge coronary heart attack. The health practitioner who stored my existence on the #glendale health facility told me i had 100% blockage of my lad artery (also known as “the widow-maker” because while it goes, you’re a goner). If i hadn’t canceled the second show to go to the hospital, the doc said i would’ve died this night. For now, i’m nonetheless above ground! However that is what i found out about myself at some stage in this disaster: loss of life was usually the issue i was maximum afraid of in existence. When the time came, i by no means imagined i’d ever be able to die with dignity - i assumed i’d die screaming, like my dad (who misplaced his life to a large coronary heart attack). However even as they reduce into my groin to slide a stent into the lethal widow-maker, i used to be filled with a feel of calm. I’ve had a first rate existence: cherished by means of parents who raised me to grow to be the person i am. I’ve had a weird, extraordinary career in all forms of media, tremendous friends, the exceptional spouse in the international and an incredible daughter who made me a dad. But as i stared into the limitless, i found out i was extraordinarily content material. Yes, i’d omit life because it moved on with out me - and i was bummed we weren’t gonna get to make #jayandsilentbobreboot earlier than i shuffled loose the mortal coil. But commonly speaking, i used to be ok with the give up, if this become gonna be it. I’ve gotten to achieve this many cool things and that i’ve had such a lot of adventures - how could i be shitty approximately in the end paying the tab. However the true folks at the glendale clinic had other plans and the expertise to fix me. Overall strangers stored my existence this night (in addition to my buddies @jordanmonsanto & @iamemilydawn, who called the ambulance). This is all a part of my mythology now and i’m positive i’ll be facing some lifestyle modifications (maybe it’s time to head vegan). However the factor of this put up is to tell you that i faced my best fear this night... And it wasn’t as awful as i’ve always imagined it’d be. I don’t want my existence to end but if it ends, i can’t bitch. It turned into such a gift. #kevinsmith

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center