The amount of snooping on a user by facebook! - A guide to securing your privacy (to a certain extent)

Source

Your ISP, the government are always looking into what you are up to online! And for those who use Google's services also know that google, by default stores a history of your activities. If you were unaware, Facebook has upped its data collection from users and this is in a way very different than what even google does. 

After reading the source article, All I did was to take a look at the privacy settings on my own facebook account. And I was literally stunned on the amount of data that was made available there! From the type of devices I use, to the features of those devices and my location history and what not! So many things has been mined out of my activities on facebook! 


Why all this?

Facebook is directly competing with google in the advertisement business. Google where is making efforts to keep its advertisers happy as well as making sure they are still making money, Facebook on the other hand is just breaching user's privacy beyond my imagination!







The images above show how much a user data is refined before collection. I've wiped out some data as it's something that I didn't want to share. Basically, all these data collected from users is supplied to advertisers for them to tailor the ads for each user. Phone numbers, email, age, gender, recent activity and much more! Take a look at your privacy and ad preference settings here and make an attempt at securing a bit of privacy online!


Until next time,

Stay sleepy!



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center