Got A New Switch

20171211_170641.jpg

For a while I have been using a TP-Link router that I flashed DD-WRT on and turned it into a switch. I didn't have a need for the wifi, just some extra ethernet ports. But the problem with that is it relies on the DD-WRT firmware to have all of the features included. Since I was using a low-end router, the firmware didn't have a ton of features. My main problem was that when multiple systems are connected, they can't ping eachother.

For example, I use my Raspberry Pi as a PiHole DNS server, but if the desktop can't ping the Pi's IP address, it's useless.

So I went to Best Buy today, found a cheap switch and came back to set it up.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/linksys-5-port-gigabit-ethernet-switch-black-blue/4833500.p?skuId=4833500

Setting this up doesn't take any effort at all. I plugged one cord from the WAN port in the wall to the first port in the switch, connected my desktop to the second port and got immediate network access. Also, it's small footprint makes it really easy to tuck away and the full metal chassis shows off it's great build quality.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center