WAR IN BLACK AND WHITE...

"I saw the old god of war stand in a bog between chasm and rock-face.
He smelled of free beer and carbolic and showed his testicles to adolescents, for he had been rejuvenated by several professors.
In a hoarse wolfish voice he declared his love for everything young".

Bertold Brecht (translation by Michael Hamburger)

(Source: https://warpoets.org/conflicts/world-war-ii)

Lone Gunner.JPG

Scan10011.JPG

Scan10005.JPGThe other day I came across a shoe box in my wardrobe of photos mostly of the North African campaign in World War 2. An ex girlfriend of mine was going to get rid of her father's box of old letters and photos in 1983 and I stepped in and said she should not throw it away but give it to me.

These are some of the original black and white photos in my possession...

Scan10006.JPGScan10014.JPGScan10012.JPGScan10008.JPGScan10001.JPGScan10003.JPGScan10004.JPG!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now