Round 2 with Cellulitis, Final Day Plus

West Samar Doctor's Hospital.png

I was having a problem scheduling day 3 so I posted it early. I hope I will not have the same issue later when this post is finished.

A quick note: I checked my lottery numbers last night. Nope! The millions have evaded me again. The one lotto is up over P206M. That's approximately $3,746,000. After the minus 20% for taxes, I think we'd be able to live with that and even actually get a ticket to go to Texas. I might even splurge once and get first class tickets. Unless I invest it wisely, I would not make a habit of first-class travel. Business class yes. Coach? Never again unless I have no other option.

At around 0625 Nening and Titing headed to the house to eat. They would be bringing back my PB&Js and "tea". Yeah, tea. It seems we ran out of coffee while I was in the hospital because I was not at my computer to reorder it. Oh well! I can do that just as soon as I get home, whenever that it, should be today.

My leg is looking so much better. It's not perfect yet, but it looks way better than it did when I arrived at the hospital. I keep hearing I will be going home today but I still need to wait on the doctor for final approval. I was one impatience patient. I got lucky yesterday because he was in the hospital for some training, early. He is not normally there until around 1 pm. I was hoping that the training class he was in lasted more than just that one day.

I've been told that this hospital, West Samar Doctor's Hospital, is better than the other hospitals in the area. The services are better, not the food. Food is better in the other ones. To me, it doesn't matter because I'm not eating the food anyway. Regardless of which hospital I am in, I get my food from outside. Besides, this hospital is much closer to the house than the others. Much, much closer.

There is supposed to be a larger, more modern hospital being built somewhere in the city, but who really knows if that will ever get built in my lifetime. They are slow about things sometimes here.

Around 1025 the doctor shows up, gives his approval and says he will begin my discharge paperwork. Some of the sweetest words I've heard in days. Now I had to worry about how much was it going to cost to release me.

Just for S & G's (shits & giggles) Nening, Titing and I took a guess at how much it would cost for the bill. My guess was 45,000 pesos. Theirs was higher at P50k and even P100k. Closest one wins. I win.

The final bill, before outside medication, came to P45,188.50. Using the approximate exchange rate of P55 per dollar, that comes out to a little over $821. That's high for me, but not as bad as I thought it would be considering the doctor warned me ahead of time that the antibiotic, I would have to take was very strong and expensive. Just the medicine used while in the hospital came to about $310. That's more than 1/3 of the bill. Compared to the US, this is a bargain.

Outside medication was not so bad. Around about a total of P2000 for a week's worth. We'll see how things are going at my follow up appointment on Wednesday. It's Sunday now.

So glad to get home to sleep in my own bed and not have to drag around that iv pole. Turns out that we did still have some coffee. It was in the cupboard in our bedroom. I ordered some more anyway (it's already here). I ordered some masa also because I have some corn husks on the way to make tamales. The masa is here already also. Corn husks should be here by the end of this week. Now I just need a video on how to make tamales. Hey, I don't make them, I just eat them.

Went to my follow up appointment but the doctor was not there. He was at home, sick. I wonder if a doctor has to see another doctor when they get sick? He would be sick probably for a couple of days. Weekend coming up. I'll just go to the follow up appointment on Monday (that's tomorrow). Yes, today is 1 week that I have been out of the hospital. The leg is still swelling up when I sit down too long, but it's not infected and purple anymore. I've limited my sitting time to avoid too much swelling.

I guess you never think about it when you are young, but it seems that the thing in life that will be my downfall is my legs. I have always had such strong legs (to carry around my big body) but maybe now they are tired of supporting me and are going to fall apart. That's what I'm thinking as of now. I hope to be able to find a solution to resolve all leg issues in the near future. I'm not sure the answer is here in Calbayog and maybe not even in the Philippines, but I'll be looking, and I hope I find it.


Photo is mine.


THE Texan in the Philippines.jpg

Howdy y’all. It’s me, ninong7 aka UJ aka John. Just a short intro about myself. I am a Texan that has retired in the Philippines. I moved to the Philippines with my wife back in May 2010. I am retired from the US Air Force. The music I like is mostly Classic Country and Classic Rock. I guess you could say that I am “Classic”. I play dominoes when I can find someone that will play, I play chess, cribbage, spades, hearts, Empire Builder, Rail Baron, Acquire and a few other games. I like to write poems and stories (although pretty novice) and I love learning about history, just about any history. I’m at home on my computer a lot but if I could afford to, I’d be traveling and documenting my travels to post in my blog. I hope to get to know a lot of you through PeakD and Discord.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center