This is Me

HELLO

My name is Clarisa but my community knows me best as Skye Symphonie. I am a cosplayer and a self-taught seamstress from Kota Kinabalu, Sabah.

For as long as I can remember, crafting had always been my release. It gave me the chance to express talent, while Cosplay allows me to escape into imaginary worlds; the characters I portray became my alter ego - the creativity, my muse.

I discovered Cosplay, or costume-play, in 2007, and got involved with it in 2008. The hobby was still very new then, and a talented costumer – who eventually became my sewing mentor and close friend – commissioned my first costume for me. Cosplay was my motivation to be creative, and it certainly resurrected my passion in doing something that I love and enjoy.

It was in 2009 that I made my very first costume. With the help and guidance of my mentor-friend, she aided me through pattern drafting, fabric selections, sewing techniques, and etc. I repaired my late mother’s old sewing machine with references from Google, and had made several handbags, a few dresses, upcycled shirts, and purses.

Admittedly, I have no prior education in relation to the study of fashion, arts or design, save for the little sewing knowledge I picked up during my secondary school years. In fact, my college education revolved around computers; though, my interest in designing had been with me since I was young. It was because of Cosplay that I decided to educate myself further to sew and create costumes.

My Cosplay is about bringing life to the characters that I love - portraying each one the best that I can. I feel meekly gratified knowing that I and my costumes are appreciated. Your kind support would help me towards generating newer contents!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center