Berdikari

activity-boys-children-1153976.jpg

Why the name "berdikari" as my username? There are few reasons to this.

In Bahasa Melayu, "berdikari" means being able to stand on one's own feet.
Using "berdikari" as username would serve as a reminder for myself to be more self-reliant.

During my primary school days, I was from Kelas 2 Berdikari until 6 Berdikari.
Classes were named after moral values, such as Jujur (Honesty) all the way from Standard 1 until Standard 6.
Previously, the school classrooms were named after flowers, e.g. Kelas 1 Anggerik ("1 Orchid Class").
Typical Malaysian school classrooms are named after flowers.

Now for a trivia.
Did you know? Moral Studies is a COMPULSORY paper for Malaysians students sitting for the SPM?
[SPM is the Malaysian equivalent of the GCE O-Levels]

Those who scored As for Moral Studies would have memorised the full definition for "berdikari" back then.
Other than Malaysia, I doubt any country would make Moral as a compulsory subject in one of their major school examinations.

Since the term 'berdikari' had played a role in my life, I decided to use 'berdikari' as my username when I created my Steemit account.
I know it sounds lame, but I couldn't find another name relevant to me back then.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments