Vancouver Winter Olympics 2010 - Men's Ice Hockey - Golden Goal

Since moving from Canada to Malaysia in 2009, I have had little chance to watch ice hockey matches. Early 2010, there were still showing NHL matches and I still remember watching an Edmonton Oiler's match when I was in a mamak stall (Malaysian Indian restaurant) at around 11am, it was fun but was weird to be watching a match played on ice in a country that is hot and humid.

Winter is when I miss Canada most, especially Christmas. Yes it is cold and can be miserable, but it brings so much memory to me and I do miss supporting TeamCanada men's hockey team and miss following NHL playoffs (especially when a Canadian team is in the finals). Following the news and scores on a computer is very different, just like an astronaut in space looking at a post card of a beautiful sunset by a beach.

Anyway, I just make due with what I get.

Winter Olympics 2010 in Vancouver - Ice Hockey Men's Final (Canada Vs USA)

Source

How can any Canadian forget this moment?? Sidney Crosby scored the game winning goal in overtime to win the Gold medal for Canada. I was happy despite the fact that I had to wake up before 5:00am to catch the game live on TV and man was it worth it. The media dubbed that moment as The Golden Goal

As you can imagine, crowds back in Canada went berserk and there are multiple YouTube clips of Canadians all around the world's reaction. Streets were crowded with people who celebrated and partied all day long. Thanks to home court advantage, Canada did very well in the medal standing but the one that matters most is always Men's Ice Hockey.

Below is a compilation clip of reaction of some of the crowds

I was celebrating all alone at 6am but man was I happy. Still remember spending the next few days on YouTube and Facebook to absorb the excitement. 

2014 in Sochi, Team Canada won the gold medal as well, again, I was watching alone, but the match wasn't half as exciting. This Winter Olympic in PyeongChang, best Canada can do is to finish a Bronze medal and I won't be watching the game. 

Canada winning gold medal is equivalent to England winning the World Cup. I would love to be in England the day they make it to World Cup final.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now