The Hanged Man - Tarot Symbolism and The Thing I Think About Every Night

hangedman.jpg

Hi Steemit,

In June it will be two years since I first started learning to read the Tarot. The actual reason why I picked the cards up is interesting enough, but I will save that for another time. The first thing I came to realize is that the symbolism attached to each card was deep, very deep. I am still very much a student, but have a true attachment to the cards and feel that the messages that come to me when I read them are real. A vibrational trueness if you will.

So here's the thing. A few months ago I noticed that when I am sleeping and lay on my back I instinctly bend my left leg and turn it to an angle, putting the bottom of my foot against my right leg. At some point a few weeks ago I thought, "I am the Hanged Man." This happens night after night and this morning I was determined to make some time to look more into this.

I am also the type of person who has a hard time believing in coincidences so follow along because there's a good one coming up.

tarotbooks.jpg

So I pulled a few books off my shelf and here's what I found regarding the crossed leg.


“His right leg is bent at the knee behind the left one, so that the picture suggests the figure of a cross.”
"He is the messenger from above to below, of the higher mental to the lower mental physical plane."
The Tarot, Mouni Sadhu


“The horizontal leg reminds us that it comes poised between Justice and Death, the place where we have accepted the truth of who we are and the place where we surrender to change."
The New Tarot Handbook, Rachel Pollack


“…it expresses the relation, in one of its aspects, between the Divine and the Universe. He who can understand that the story of his higher nature is imbedded in this symbolism will receive intimations concerning a great awakening that is possible, and will know that after the sacred Mystery of Death there is a glorious Mystery of Resurrection."
The Illustrated Key to the Tarot, L.W. De Laurence


“In the Hermetic grade of Rose Croiz (18th degree of the Ancient and Accepted Rite) one of the signs of recognition consists in crossing the legs like those of the Hanged Man."
The Tarot of the Bohemians, Papus

thothHangedMan.jpg

I love all of these interpretations and have a fondness for the card, feeling kinship with it, being exposed, misunderstood and simply not caring about the opinions of others, especially if they don't know what they're talking about. I have always been the odd outsider, but carried something within me that often made people unsure of what to do with me because, 'he might be right or onto something'. I think my vibe has always been that opinions of others didn't matter and I'm fine if you think I look a fool because I know I'm not. That's how I see the Hanged Man.

He hangs suspended between Heaven and Earth, taking the Middle Path and suggests the birth of the new, balance and inner wisdom--I'll take that!

Yesterday I got a spot on three card reading from @zero-infinity which ended with the Chariot card which tells me I think it's time for me to push myself and my sometimes misunderstood ways a bit harder, more forcefully. You can see that reading HERE.

Now about that 'coincidence' I mentioned earlier. I am a book dealer and picked up a book this morning that I recently acquired, opened it up and low and behold, look what I found on the publishers title page!

HawksHM.jpg

I love life and all its mysteries!

Until next time, @tacostate

tsstets.jpg

ALL ORIGINAL CONTENT

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center