Dalek Tanks?!

In one of my earliest posts: https://steemit.com/tanks/@steampunkkaja/the-stuff-i-make-for-fun
I shared some pictures of this thing:
Dalek tank snip.PNG
I mentioned that I also had some other dalek-inspired tanks in my collection of oddities. I think it's about time I finally show them. These are all chuyinka weapons from the original story that I started writing, but then put on the proverbial shelf because I like steampunk better.

My original design, the ShU-188 assault gun:
ShU-188.PNG

I had to make the rotating fingers around the barrel a bit shorter in order to get them to work the way I wanted to, and I also added a countermeasure ring around the base of the turret. The result is the ShU-255:
ШУ-255.PNG
Here's a view from above and behind, with the lighting changed so you can actually see everything:
ShU-255 back.PNG
And here is what the fingers are for:
ShU firing.PNG
ShU firing 2.PNG
"Истреблять" is the Russian word for "exterminate," in case you couldn't guess.

The main weapon on this silly monstrosity is a phase disruptor, which was originally developed as a piece of mining equipment, but makes an effective weapon against all types of targets, vaporising any matter that gets caught in its beam. However, that's not the only weapon that this thing can have. There are three special weapons variants, but I'm not going to waste space showing them here. Upon retrospect, they are a bit silly even by my standards. Poke around in my Shapeways shop if you're curious. There is also a fourth variant, which is capable of becoming invisible. It's completely black, and armed with a programmable quantum manipulator, which can do all sorts of things, from repairing friendly vehicles, hacking communication systems, overloading power reactors, and disintegrating enemy vehicles.

The texture I chose is "Aluminium 6061 AHC," which I normally reserve for the divots in the ends of gun barrels to make them look like tubes, because it is considerably darker than "black." Unfortunately, that creates problems, and I may change it to something not quite so extreme in the future:
ShU-255-4.PNG
ShU-255-4 top.PNG

There are also command variants, which are heavily decorated and have longer main weapons. Here is a comparison of two of them with the fourth variant:
ShU options 1.PNG
ShU options 2.PNG
ShU options 3.PNG
ShU options 4.PNG

Finally, there is the ShU-279, which I made last night out of frustration, since I still don't have a decent drawing for the IS-3 (but enough component blueprints that I could probably build the real thing, if ever I got my hands on a wrecked hull). The ShU-279 is based mostly on the fourth variant (ShU-255-4), but with a pike nose, additional shield generator spheres in front, and two forward hull guns:
ShU-279 1.PNG
ShU-279 2.PNG
ShU-279 3.PNG

So, there you have it, this is what happens when a strange idea pops into my head and I run with it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now