Going Plastic Free - Bathroom Edition #earthdeeds

Most of my plastic free focus for the last 2.5 weeks has been in the kitchen. This is where we tend to see the highest 'turnover' of plastic but there are many, many other places around the house that use plastic and the bathroom seems to be a huge plastic consumer.

A glance down any supermarket toiletries aisle will be wall to wall plastic and it's not just the packaging, the ingredients in some products are plastics too!

91AB18A784A24CDD8BC6FB5CB5D80345.jpeg

In order to access alternatives you mostly have to leave the supermarket.

Soap, Body Wash and Hand Wash
Seriously what are the benefits of liquid soap? Plastic free in this category is easy, buy a bar of soap. This is even possible at the supermarket, just try to get a paper wrapped one.

Shampoo and Conditioner
In a similar answer to the above, get a bar. At least one major bath and beauty retailer has been making shampoo and conditioner bars since I left university (some 15 years ago). I'm seeing lots more options in recent years especially at craft and handmade markets. There's some experimentation required to get the right shampoo and conditioner for your hair but the major retailer and the makers should be able to assist.

Lotions and Moisturisers
It's starting to get more difficult now as lotions and potions, unlike soap and bars, generally need a container. Glass is a good alternative, bonus points if it can be refilled rather than relying on recycling. Though there's also likely to be a plastic lid or pump.

Dental
Personally I do not enjoy the bamboo tooth brush, so I've compromised to the recycled plastic version. And I'm okay with that, my mouth is happy and I'm helping create a market for recycled plastic. Floss wise we haven't switched yet but this list looks promising and will be explored further as the need arises.

Toothpaste is another huge category for using up plastic, those pesky tubes. I know there are alternatives in powder and tablets but I find toothpaste and the ingredients extremely overwhelming so I've opted for a natural one until I have more courage or knowledge.

Make Up
This isn't something I've actually thought about before today, I've been using up the make up I already have, it would be embarrassing to say how long I've owned some products. But a quick internet search shows companies are making solutions, tins, glass, paper tubes (I have some paper tube lip balm already). Also in this category would be make up wipes and nail polish - I have muslim cloths and face washers for make up (I don't wear much) and similarly to my make up I'm using up my nail polish stash before looking for alternatives.

First Aid
I think medical needs are one place that most would agree plastic has the most value. But I'm not sure most of the things in my bathroom cabinet first aid kit are life saving. Tea tree oil in a glass bottle with plastic lid. Fabric instead of plastic for adhesive bandages. Paper tape.

Painkillers is an interesting one with their plastic and foil combination, though there are small plastic bottled versions which would be easier to reuse and recycle. Price wise these are about the same as the main brand pain killers.

It's just so easy
As with most things, many of the things we choose in plastic are there for convenience rather than actual need. The convenience of getting everything from one place. The convenience of not having to search or think just put it in the trolley. The convenience of not having to make anything. I had so many ideas of things that I would struggle to go plastic free but then realised I could probably just make that; body scrub, mosquito repellent, saline eye drops, etc.

Just writing this blog has highlighted lots of areas where I could be choosing plastic free alternatives even in places I didn't think there would be any options!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency